Welcome to My New Digs

Hello. Good to see you. Welcome to my news digs. I have actually been posting here for several weeks already, just paralleling my Raindrops posts while I tried to personalize my new home just a little bit: a task which has not always been easy as I have landed in a strange country where things work a little differently — at least if you wish to play around and modify the template a bit. However, as it now seems to be working well and be stable to boot, I am moving in lock, stock and barrel, albeit with some misgiving and trepidation.

It’s highly likely that you are a Blogger person and are most likely wondering what could possibly have possessed old AC to pack his boxes and move to new digs after more than six years of publishing on Blogger. The reasons are two-fold and quite simple.

  1. I’ve now owned this anvilcloud.net domain where you have landed today for a number of years, but it has been gathering dust quite some time now. So, I thought to myself, “Self, you should either give up your web site or make use of it to host your blog.” Besides, I quite anticipated the challenge of setting it up using Word Press software and surmised that the cranial exercise couldn’t exactly hurt my mental acumen. Frankly, my dear, this noggin of mine needs all of the positive stimulation that it can get.
  2. My second reason is that, for me, Blogger has its limitations. For example: lately, neither Cuppa nor I are able see our full archives. If we click on July, for example, we might only see half our posts displayed. While they’re still accessible via Dashboard, it would be nice to have them available on the blog itself. I mean, that’s at least part of the lure of blogging — to have easily accessible archives.

That’s it really. I have nothing against Blogger and may return to it someday and update to the newer formats and templates, for I suspect that it’s my antiquated templates that might be causing the archiving problem that I mentioned, above. WordPress software has a little bit of a learning curve, but it is also a little more flexible and powerful, so I think I will enjoy using it for the time being.

Like Blogger this site publishes RSS Feeds to notify followers of new posts. However, I don’t really know if all Blogger people will be comfortable with this. For example: if you use Blogger’s Follow method, I really don’t know if it will work outside of Blogger, but please let me know one way or t’other. If finding my updates becomes a problem for you, please indicate so in the comment section or email me, and I will be glad notify you, personally, of updates. Note: there is also a permanent email link at the top of the sidebar.

Regardless: I plan to respond by email to everyone’s first comment, so you should have the email address that way too. I am using a new email address for this blog, but the account that I used at Raindrops, is still there and functioning, so there are many ways for you to communicate with me.

I imagine there will be a little bit more to say about this new venture, but I think that’s enough for me to write and for you to digest for one post. Phew!

Once again: Welcome.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to Welcome to My New Digs

  1. Ginger says:

    Well, isn’t this an adventure!

  2. Ruth says:

    You gave me a start, first thing this morning! I couldn’t image you just up a quitting like that. I have a Workpress blog I post to daily and I see the advantages and benefits of both Blogger and this platform. I have toyed with the idea of my own domain and putting all my blogs in one place. Is Cuppa going to have her own page here??
    I like the header and the nice clean look…off to change the link in my reader.

  3. cuppa says:

    Congrats! It looks good

  4. Diana says:

    Hi AC, I like the new look. My daughter Ginny uses wordpress and I know that there is a way to follow her in my reader. I’ve got her there. But I can’t figure it out here. I will investigate further but if you already know, I could use the help.
    Love Di ♥

  5. Diana says:

    O.k. well I did subscribe through my bookmarks.

  6. I made the leap! Nice in here! I had a WP blog but it was a constant headache…(my fault, no doubt)! I feel like I need to put on some pearls and a decent hat now…Hahaaaa…classy!
    Happy day to you Ac!
    hughugs

  7. Judy says:

    Nice place you have here!
    Where shall I set my gift for the host?

  8. Stace says:

    Oooh, I like the new site – and I really like the word mix over to the side with the tag lines- thanks for leaving breadcrumbs- I’ll see ya soon!

  9. The Sha says:

    Sheesh! I thought you were packing it in when I first saw your blogger post.

    The place place looks good!

  10. Morning AC, this is a very nice look. I tgried WP a few months back and you are right in that it is a different learning curve. Gave it up, but may go back. Your header is wonderful colors and nicely fills the top – well done!

  11. AC says:

    Lot’s of dropper-inners today.

    Welcome: Ruth, Diana, Donna, Judy, Stace, TheSha, and Beatrice. As I posted, I will do an email when I am not quite so rushed after sitting in a courtroom this morning and coming within a whisker (maybe literally) of being selected.

  12. Mara says:

    I was worried there for a minute: no more Anvilcloud? But I am glad you found a new home and will continue to delight us with photos (yes?) and stories (please?). And I like your new home.

  13. Hilary says:

    Fine! I just took note of your blogger address for my reader but I’ll switch over to this one. Congrats on your old/new digs. 🙂

  14. Mary G says:

    Handsome. I have posted on WordPress in a group blog and found that doing both was making my brain feel like well chewed gum. But I share your aggravation with some of the Blogger features – I’m using one of the new templates now and having occasional hissy fits.
    I will see if I can get this place into Blogger Following. If not, I have a file for blogs I follow that won’t add, for whatever reason, and will put you there.
    I look forward to seeing your photos better displayed – unless I am in them.
    (sending virtual bottle of champagne for virtual breaking over bow of new launch.)

  15. Mary G says:

    Added with no trouble and so I will have no trouble getting here.

  16. D3 says:

    Holy schnikeys you scared me! I thought just as I started getting into blogs (i’ve now made it a goal to read blogs at least once a day) you were going to retired! Phew!! I dig the new digs.

  17. Lorna says:

    Lovely crisp look to your place; I am relieved that you weren’t leaving Blogosphere. I shudder every time I see WordPress because it was in the jiggling of it that I sent my 5 year-old blog into the ether. Blogger suits my limited cyberskills.
    It really does look nice, and I’m sure you’re going to be as dignified as your template.

  18. Welcome to WordPress! I’m about a month away from my sixth anniversary, so it seems we started blogging around the same time.

  19. Kila says:

    Welcome to WordPress! I made the switch from Blogger a couple years ago, and like it much better (once you get used to it).

  20. garnetrose says:

    Hi. It looks nice. I did have quite a start when I read your post. I thought, oh, no…he is leaving us….Glad you did not leave us. This looks nice. Nice, indeed.

  21. Bernie says:

    This site looks great AC, I’m not sure how or where to sign up to follow you. I will put this under my favorites (until I figure it out) and if you don’t show up in Reader I will check here.
    Good luck with this new lay out and I’m toasting to you for another six years at least.
    Big Hugs…:-)

  22. Col says:

    Welcome to the world of WordPress A/C. Your blog is looking good!

  23. Jinksy says:

    Well, I’ve done a lot of walking backwards to get here, but have enjoyed the stops along the way! Catching up in one fell swoop is like settling down for the afternoon with a good book – thanks for the entertainment AC!

Leave a Reply

