Welcome Back

Welcome back to The AC Is On … for, perhaps, your second visit. Please see the post below or click here to read the official welcome and information if you missed the first post.

Unlike my previous Raindrops blog, I have chosen not to fiddle and faddle excessively with the template: not for the present, at least. In fact, I have gone round and round in even  trying to even get links to behave as I wish them to: almost losing the whole blog and what remains of my sanity at one juncture. As I write this, the links are still misbehaving, and I may just give it up. So, aside from messing (and I do mean messing) with the links, all I’ve done with this template so far is substitute my own header, add a little About section with an email link at the top of the sidebar, and a few other little things that one wouldn’t notice but that make it feel more like home to me.

Maybe I’ll take designing a step further someday if the spirit moves me, but I’m happy enough with the look right now. There is something to be said for simple presentations on a white background. It’s about Accessibilty and is pretty well what all businesses use, and it works for most people.

That being said, I wouldn’t mind input about the title. When I was getting this site set up, I started out with a title variation on the former Raindrops, but then I thought: “Perhaps I should have a new title in my new digs.” So for now, it’s The AC Is On … with the extra descriptor … in all seasons added.  The title is, quite obviously, a pun of sorts on AC which can stand for both Anvilcloud and air conditioning, and unlike air conditioning, this AC runs no matter the season or weather.

That was my thinking, but if you think it’s a dumb title and can think of a better one, I am open to suggestions before the blog gets too old. Both blog titles, the former Raindrops and The AC Is On … , are weather-related, and perhaps I should get away from that. Just in case you never knew the etymology of Anvilcloud and Raindrops, I can tell you that they come from a word play on my other-life name and weren’t just randomly snatched from out of the blue.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Welcome Back

  1. Diana says:

    I of all people understand having to be “In the Mood” to mess with changes on the blog!
    I think it looks fine the way it is and I thought the title very clever! So, for what it’s worth, I think you did just fine AC! Love Di ♥

  2. Hilary says:

    I quite like the blog name. I think it’s clever. You were new to me at the time of this change and I still caught onto the significance of AC so I think it works for you. I love the header pic and I totally get how making template changes on your own site is far different than messing in the Blogger controls.

  3. Hilary says:

    Oh and I thought I’d abandoned my attempt to make an avatar partway through because I feared it would link to and change my avatar in Blogger as well. Now to find out..

  4. D3 says:

    Ahhhhh….I never knew the connection between your name and AC. I think your weather-inspired handle and blog name is very apropos. Especially given your pre-retirement profession and your unusually strong interest in the weather and general geographic conditions – including your multi-seasonal photos. In fact, I think you should take your rainy analogies one step further and come visit us in Vancouver.

  5. Mara says:

    I vote in favour of the current name. I think it’s cool! (pun intended)

  6. cuppa says:

    I agree with D3. Let’s go to Vancouver!

  7. Well, I think it’s Plumb-Cool!!Hahaaaa…..I Like the name! Hope you keep it…
    Happy night Ac!
    hughugs

  8. OK here’s another vote for the current name, which is very original and clever albeit a bit puny, but then why not have fun! And what is the connection between Anvilcloud and Raindrops? Sorry, but I have not been reading from the earliest postings.

  9. Doris says:

    Looks good! For a second there I really thought you had given up blogging and I was shocked! Good to know you are still going full blast (a pathetic attempt at a pun – unlike the witty one by Mara).

  10. I think it is all wonderful. The name is great.

  11. Col says:

    I am lovin’ the clean look of your blog. And the name is pretty much perfect. 🙂

Leave a Reply

