Final StartUp Info

Just before I begin with normal posting on this new site, I thought I would take care of a bit of housekeeping by very briefly discussing avatars or gravatars.

Before I do that, if this is your first visit, I suggest that you quickly scroll down for the information in my first two welcoming posts. If you can’t see them, they are Welcome to My New Digs and Welcome Back.

Now, about avatars: this information is new to me, so, for what it’s worth, I thought I’d pass it on — just in case it might be new to you too. When you are outside of Blogger, the avatar (personal picture) that you use there doesn’t follow you. However, on most WordPress blogs and sometimes others, that can be easy to amend — at least if the blogger in question has enabled the appropriate plugin.

If you go to gravatar.com, you can set up a free account and upload a photo. Then, you  associate the photo/avatar with whatever email address that you use to post comments. Lo and behold, it should pop up beside your words of wisdom when you write a comment here (and quite possibly elsewhere). It’s free and easy peasy if you’re so inclined. If you’re not so inclined, that’s fine and dandy, but I just thought you might like to know. 🙂

One more item of information: I am using WordPress software to host this blog, but it’s on my own site. You can also get free blogging accounts at wordpress.com. I’m not suggesting that you should because I’m sure that you’re happy with Blogger, but I just thought I would explain the difference.

So … I think that takes care of all of the introductory matter that I can think of. Tomorrow or soon, I’ll resume normal blogging. Mind you, I don’t yet know what the heck I will be blogging about. You see; some things never change — no matter where I hang out.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Final StartUp Info

  1. Ginnie Dean says:

    AC…what are you doing? You are one of my very favorite bloggers and I’m not sure If this will be OK…I guess I’m more adverse to change than I thought I was. !! Will we still get pictures of your wonderful, and photogenic, grandchildren? What will your theme be or will it be eclectic like mine? Etc., etc.
    Good luck with it, however, and just remember to visit me. I’ve been up and running since July 2006 and you’ve been part of my life for most of that time!!

  2. D3 says:

    You mean after all the excitement with your brief brush with the law didn’t give you pause for reflection?? Why not write about that?? Or….I have the perfect solution to permanently fix any writer’s block….you need to join Twitter!! It’s like facebook but only status updates and if you decide to “follow” people or organizations of particular interest, you will get a constant feed through out the day of interesting info. I follow mostly health-related orgs, but it’s great because I’m always getting little snippets of info and I feel as if I have my thumb on the pulse of the national health scene (and some of the international scene – NPR health is particularly interesting.) Most of the links, etc. that I know post on fb are from things I have seen on twitter. You should try it! Then you can stay up all night reading little tidbits of info you find interesting!!

  3. I’m not sure what Ginnie means…Did I miss something? Guess I’ll go back and re-read the post…You’re not going anywhere are you??
    Oh well, I Know you’ll Always have something to post about…and have photos of the family. I always enjoy whatever you blog about!
    hughugs

  4. Col says:

    You had me wondering how long I had been doing this blog thing… seemed like a long time ago. I had to check my archives for the date … but it has been 5 years. Wow.. time flies when you’re having fun. 🙂

  5. Kay Davies says:

    Hi — I read all three of the ‘new you’ posts, and I like the blog name, too.
    I might come back to your avatar instructions some day, but right now I’m trying to figure out the new camera my husband got me for my upcoming birthday. We’re going to Hawaii right after my bd so I want to be able to use my Samsung WB5500 with its high definition and 26X zoom. So far I’ve found out I don’t need to use the disk that came with it because I have a Mac and not a PC. I haven’t found the on/off switch yet, however.
    Glad you like the banner on my blog. Feel free to pass it on. I never intended my blog to be political, but some things have gone entirely too far. Canada being rejected by the United Nations? Hello? I remember Lester B. Pearson and his Nobel Peace Prize, and I can’t let the Harpies get away with murdering my country/LBP’s country.
    Sigh.
    — K

    Kay, Alberta, Canada
    An Unfittie’s Guide to Adventurous Travel

  6. Mary G says:

    Thanks for the info. I admire people who find things out and share the wealth.

Leave a Reply

