The Hand of the Child

“Truly I tell you, unless you change and become like little children, you will never enter the kingdom of heaven.” (Matthew 18:3 NIV)

The grandfather who writes this blog has been thinking and marvelling lately of the unconditional love of children: little children especially, little like Zach, little Nikki Dee, and the little boy in the picture.

Grandma and Me

AC with his paternal grandmother, Philis, circa 1950, probably in Ste-Thérèse, QC

Do you see how he’s reaching out and grabbing his grandmothers hand? He was the one to reach out. Unreservedly: to this physically unattractive, hunchbacked woman with her long, stringy hair and too-long teeth. The boy didn’t care: was blind to her defects to the extent that didn’t even notice.

Kids. Little kids. They just accept you the way you are. They are colour blind and every other good kind of blind: blind to warts, blemishes and deformities of all shapes and sizes. They don’t see and don’t care if you are fat or thin, tall or short, pretty or plain, bald or blond, well dressed or grubby, clean shaven or bearded.

I know this because my own grandkids are blind to my faults and peculiarities. I delight in their signs of affection, like the time recently when she was doing something or other on my computer and I was sitting over on the couch. She got up, walked over, grabbed me by the hand and led me to the computer where she insisted on holding onto my hand as she continued to watch whatever had grabbed her attention in the first place; she just wanted me to sit with her. She is totally unconcerned about my baldness or any of my myriad other oddities, and she wouldn’t care if she if she did notice. She totally and unequivocally accepts me just as I am: just as the boy in the picture totally and unequivocally accepted his odd, little, old grandmother.

Now that I am the old one basking in the love of my grandchildren, I am almost thrilled to see that little AC was the same way with Granny because that’s what I called her. I didn’t notice this blind, unconditional acceptance of his until just lately, but I see it now, and I am happy for both him and her.

I wouldn’t be at all surprised if this is exactly what Jesus had in mind when he said what he did about little children: that we should love and accept each other just as the little children do. Then we would see the kingdom of heaven — on earth. Yes, I think that is exactly what he meant.

This entry was posted in Family and Photos, Heritage and History, Thoughtfulness and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to The Hand of the Child

  1. KGMom says:

    Following you.
    I love the photo–you and grandmere.
    And I can so see in your child face the seeds of your grandson.

  2. Ruth says:

    So true and well said!

  3. Philip says:

    You began a posting with a religious text. Could it be a sermon that follows? 🙂

    The love and acceptance of a child is one of life’s great delights for sure.

  4. I Truly believe this as Well…Unconditional….Love the photo Ac…
    hughugs

  5. D3 says:

    You’re BALD???!!!!! What???!!! I never noticed that!! But I love you lots and lots and lots and lots and lots!!!!!!

  6. Mara says:

    Isn’t the expression: Love is blind? For some reason when you love someone you hone in on the important stuff of how people are instead of what they look like. Which of course is how it should be!

  7. Ginger says:

    I love, LOVE this post. It’s part of why my life’s work was to be a teacher and interact with children (and young adults). There is no nicer work.

  8. Bernie says:

    I so love this post and to me it is 100% spot on……perhaps that is why I love children so, they just accept us as we are. I can see a strong family resemblance through you, your daughter and grandchildren…….:-) Hugs

  9. Quite simply put, very well stated, AC. Love is indeed blind and that is one of its most endearing strengths.

  10. Judy says:

    I’m SURE that’s exactly what Jesus meant.

    Now. If only the people who believe they are following him would realize that.

    Your grandkids certainly do look like you!

    And SURPRISE! Our daughter and son-in-law will be giving us a fourth grandchild soon.

  11. Hilary says:

    What a wonderful photo. It’s these beautiful moments captured in time which tell us those untold stories of long ago. Nicely done.

Leave a Reply

