The Hand of the Grandparent

Being somewhat slow on the uptake, I just just recently figured out another thing about grandparents and grandchildren. Yes, it does take old AC awhile to get it but better late than never, I suppose.

Look at the photo and tell me what you see. Okay then, don’t tell me, but think on it.

Generations

L to R: Dad, AC, Paternal Grandfather:early fifties in Montreal

What I see in this photo by his garden is my grandfather’s hand on my shoulder. By George, for that was his name, it’s almost a hug.

What I surmise from that is that he was probably tickled pick with his grandson, especially at his age as he was already in his seventies, and I was his first and last. He would have known that too … or known it as much as such things are knowable.

He didn’t have the same access to me as I have to my grandkids, and both he and my maternal grandfather were British, or at least had been born in England. British men of that era did not necessarily relate to their children and grandchildren as we tend to do now, but I rather think that in his own way he was quite taken with his grandson. Now that the grandson is now a grandfather, it kind of warms the cockles of my heart to think that I was once loved by my grandparents in much the same way that I love mine.

It took me until now to figure that out. As I said, I’m a rather slow learner.

This entry was posted in Family and Photos, Heritage and History, Thoughtfulness and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to The Hand of the Grandparent

  1. Love the photo…I only wish I’d known All my grandparents. Just knew two of them.
    hughugs

  2. Diana says:

    I was very close to my grandmother. She was a wonderful woman and I have always tried to emulate her with my own grandchildren. Maybe that’s why you are such a good Buppa! Love Di ♥

  3. D3 says:

    Grandparents and Grandkids can often have a special relationship that they don’t have with their own parents. Although two of my grandparents were certainly “special” indeed – they stopped speaking to my family (including my sister and I ) when we were quite young due to to a fight with my dad. Either way, my observations tell me that grandchildren seem to be a lot more pleasurable and less work than children, so D2 and I have decided to skip having children and instead hire a couple grandchildren.

  4. Hilary says:

    Just as becoming parents revealed much of what went over our heads as children – such as unconditional love, I suppose grandparenting has its own set of newly-learned truths. I’m enjoying these photos.

  5. Cathy says:

    Whew. I had a little trouble on the slog over here, but it was worth it!

    Precious picture, AC and some tender commentary.

    I think I may see a little family resemblance with your grandpa?

    Something about the eyes and forehead?

  6. Ruth says:

    That was a very affectionate gesture for that generation. I am sure you were well loved.

  7. Lorna says:

    Who’s not to love?

  8. AC, it is amazing that the older we get, the more we learn. Enjoyed the post and the commentary as our grandson is a 10-hour drive so you and Cuppa are indeed fortunate to have Nikki Dee and Zach close by and to see them often! Times to treasure for certain.

  9. Bernie says:

    Now this is a special picture and I think the bond grandparents have with their grandchildren is so very special for everyone…..:-)Hugs

Leave a Reply

