Down in the Valley

I composed this post about a week ago, but it kept getting pushed to the back by many hands … so to speak.

I just had to go to my Flickr photos to find and search for this picture after picking up the travel section in the Saturday paper.

Arch of Time

The "pillars" (in the background) of Monument Valley are left standing so remarkably after the surrounding land has been weathered and eroded.

In the newspaper, was I seeing a picture through the very same arch as in my photos? I had to check it out.

Not quite the same spot but really close. The newspaper photo looked on at least part of the same scene because the monuments (buttes and mesas) were the same as those on the left side of my photo. However, the shape of the arch was different.

I have come back to Monument Valley in my previous blog space and now here several times now, for our tour of it was a memorable experience. As the sun was setting, we took a three hour jeep tour with a Najavo guide. It was magical to both Cuppa and me: even more so for me at least that the Grand Canyon, Sedona or Canyon de Chelly, which were our other main stops in Arizona.

In the newspaper article, Gary A Warner, listed it as one of his ten favourite places in the USA, and I can understand why as that three hour guided tour was certainly a highlight for us. Strangely enough, however, it seems to me that many Arizonians or tourists to that remarkable state never make it to Monument Valley or if they do, they choose just to look from the visitors center. What they see are the Mittens (below), which are nice enough, but there is so much more in my opinion. For us, the not insubstantial amount spent to hire this guide was well worth it in what we knew would be trip that we would only take once.

The Two Mittens

The Mittens from the Visitor Center at sundown

Finally, for those who might be interested in staying seeing a little more, here is a slideshow of my Flickr pictures from Monument Valley.

http://www.flickr.com/apps/slideshow/show.swf?v=71649

This entry was posted in Near and Far and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Down in the Valley

  1. Mara says:

    What an amazing landscape. At first you think that nothing can grow there and then you see these little tufts of bright green grass or even small trees.

    I loved the sign (photo on a horse?), but where was the horse?

  2. AC says:

    I don’t know how long that sign had been there, but a fairly long time, I think, and there was no horse. There was a little Navajo boy selling trinkets, however.

  3. Lorna says:

    I knew I’d seen that photo somewhere before!

  4. Ginger says:

    I remember seeing those mittens when I was a child and our parents took us on a road trip across the U.S. during a furlough. My husband and I love Arizona! Luckily, his mother lives there so we have reason to travel there fairly often.

  5. The area IS beautiful! Love the colors! Great shot of Yours though!
    hughugs

  6. Bernie says:

    What great pictures, you and Cuppa look wonderful. I have never been to this place but I will be sure and take the tour if I ever get there…..:-)Hugs

  7. Hilary says:

    What incredible photos. I love those Mittens and your slideshow showed some beautiful images. I sure would love to see it for myself one day. Thanks for this.

  8. AC, thanks for this slideshow of a truly beautiful place and one which we hpe to visit one day along with the Grand Canyon. I especially liked the photo of you and “Duke”

  9. Doris says:

    What a great post. I loved looking at all the wonderful vistas and dreaming of being back there. Your pictures outdo mine so now I must go back for sure!

  10. Laurie says:

    Going to Monument Valley is on my Bucket List and your post reminded me why. Great photos, thanks.

  11. Col says:

    Wow… your photos are awesome! What an amazing terrain.

  12. D3 says:

    Not the same as watching the slide show from your living room and pausing while mom tells little stories with each picture, but still beautiful photos.

  13. Mary G says:

    We too took the long driving tour. And I have the obligatory ‘mitten’ photo and many, many more. We stayed at the motel close to the site and the sunrise across the various outcroppings was spectacular.
    Your opening photo is beautiful.

  14. Ruth says:

    What a beautiful spot. I enjoyed the slideshow.

Leave a Reply

