Christmas Meme

AC is not a great fan of memes, I think at least partly because I want to move with the wind, as it were, and not be forced into completing homework assignments. However, on occasion it seems timely and appropriate to pick one up. I found this one at QMM’s, and it has to do with Christmas and winter, so it seems condign to the month.

1. Hot Chocolate or apple cider?
They’re both fine, but cider seems Christmassy. Although Bailey’s in hot chocolate is not to be easily dismissed.

2. Turkey or Ham?
Is this a serious question? Is ham a treat for anybody anywhere at any time?

3. Do you get a fake or real-you-cut-it-yourself Christmas tree?
We always fake it in this house. Now we just have a little optically lit tree: no ornaments at all. But Cuppa does have Christmas things up all over the place.

4. Decorations on the outside of your house?
On the outside if the inside of the front porch windows count as outside, and I think it does.

5. Snowball fights or sleddin’?
What kind of question is that? Do a lot of kids do memes?

6. Do you enjoy going downtown shopping?
Downtown is too far away, not that Ottawa has much of a downtown. There was a time, however, like when I was a kid in Montreal that downtown was the place to be. It was a treat to see the window displays at Eatons — the now defunct iconic Canadian department store.

7. Favorite Christmas song?
Last years song by Bocelli and Blige, I guess: What Child is This?

8. How do you feel about Christmas movies?
I’m a Scrooge, Christmas Carol, fan. All of the others I can take or leave. Everyone else in the family seems smitten with Polar Express, but I can’t make out what the fuss is about.

9. When is it too early to start listening to Christmas music?
Cuppa starts decorating around mid-November before the Santa Claus parade. Excuse me while I start up the music on my computer.

10. Stockings before or after presents?
Before. We never did stockings when I was a kid but they are part of Cuppa’s Christmas tradition — and now mine and the kids’.

11. Go to someone else’s house or they come to you?
We are now the ones to be on the move. But it’s only across town. Some years, we sleep over there on Christmas Eve.

12. Do you read the Christmas Story? If so when?
The grands are little, so new traditions must evolve. In the past, Christmas Eve has been a family time with games.

13. What do you do after presents and dinner?
Well, we have quite a gap between presents and dinner. We do a breakfast/brunch called Wife Saver after the presents have been opened. Then we hang around and have dinner in the late afternoon.

14. What is your favorite holiday smell?
Turkey cooking.

15. Ice skating or walking around the mall?
Do you mean what I would like to do, or what I can do? The latter isn’t fun, and the former is not possible. In my head though, the former would win by a mile. If the question is really asking if I’d like to skate around the mall, I’m nonplussed. 🙂 This can’t happen — even in The Great White North.  There is an ice hotel that opens in Quebec City sometime in winter, but I don’t think they even skate in that.

16. Do you open a present or presents on Christmas Eve, or wait until Christmas day?
We are a Christmas morning family. I mean, Santa comes at night when everyone is asleep. No? However, the girls used to open one present on Christmas Eve — pyjamas.

17. Favorite Christmas memory?
My first daughter, Thesha, came home on Christmas Day. Although I was so stunned that I barely remember. 🙂

18. Favorite Part about winter?
Snow days when we’re warm inside are nice. Snow walks when we’re well-bundled are nice too. For a number of years, not long ago, we did did some snowshoeing in the woods, and that was great exercise and fun.

19. Ever been kissed under mistletoe?
I guess, but never passionately, I don’t think.

This entry was posted in Holidays and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Christmas Meme

  1. Ruth says:

    I like your meme. I agree with your answer to #2…why ham? #5 should have option 3…building a snowman. I still like to do that and we are getting a good dump of packing snow today. 🙂

  2. Hilary says:

    #6: I remember Ogalvy’s as having the most amazing windows. I wonder if they still do.

  3. Bernie says:

    I remember the decorations at Eaton’s and I also remember Eaton’s delivery truck pulling up to our house, us kids (all 6 of us) would be so excited, I loved this meme.
    ….:-)Hugs

  4. Memes can be fun and tells you something about the characters you hang with in blogland….I think you’re a wee bit suspicious….Hahahaaa…..never been kissed passionately under the mistletoe! I’m telling Cuppa on you!!Hahaaaa
    hughugs

  5. Mary says:

    Might I recommend ‘Elf’! It’s so funny!

    Merry Almost Christmas, Juncle.

  6. Lorna says:

    I nodded below, then I read the meme, but I have to admit, the most smashing thing on this read was to find you’re a Juncle. we have Gruncles in our family and my sons/inlaws are Chriscle, Brucecle and Morganticle.

  7. Mara says:

    I think I might have to steal this meme from you. Loved the answers, because to me it also shows the difference in culture quite a bit.

Leave a Reply

