An Old Fashioned Celebration

“Bring the whole family out for a Kintail Country Christmas and step into the wonderful world of Holidays past.”

That’s what the article said. So we did. On Saturday afternoon, after a certain amount of hemming and hawing (because we knew that she would want a sleepover afterward, and we had to determine if we were up for that). It wasn’t the whole family: just AC, Cuppa and Nikki Dee. We had a fine time enjoying two sleigh rides to stories, music and crafts.

Seasonal Celebrations at the Mill

The first thing we did was to take a ride on a two-horse open sleigh. There wasn't much snow, but these huge guys had no trouble pulling us. I didn't think Nikki Dee enjoyed it very much, but then she asked for another turn at the end of the day.

Seasonal Celebrations at the Mill

Inside the old residence and present museum, they had stories for the kids and this musician. He played the guitar, mandolin, violin, and he also sang. He was very personable and lots of fun.

Seasonal Celebrations at the Mill

The place was nicely decorated, including this old piano.

Seasonal Celebrations at the Mill

I spotted more simple decorations beyond this doorway. It was nothing extra special, but it felt good to be there and experience a visitation from the Ghost of Christmas past.

Seasonal Celebrations at the Mill

In keeping with the olden times theme, Father Christmas was present and receiving children. Nikki Dee was not impressed. Bearded guys in red suits are one thing, but how to explain one in a blue suit. "No Buppa. This isn't Santa, and I don't want anything to do with him."

Seasonal Celebrations at the Mill

In another building, there was a craft activity for the kids. A kind lady tried to show Nikki Dee how to spread lard on a pine cone before rolling it in birdseed. A pretty neat idea.

Seasonal Celebrations at the Mill

Eventually, Nikki Dee was attracted to the playground and had a turn or three on this tire. The boy in the red coat had fun giving everybody a ride.

Just to give you the flavour. One little girl has obviously taken step dance lessons, and Nikki Dee didn't quite know what to do.

I think this needs to become a tradition — for a few years anyway.

This entry was posted in Holidays and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to An Old Fashioned Celebration

  1. KGMom says:

    AC–Oh, I love it. And of course this MUST become a tradition. Such special times.
    You do know how blessed you are?

  2. QMM says:

    That was great. I love the blue clad Santa but I can understand why Nikki Dee hesitated. She felt that music. Every so often she would try to make a effort to get with it. Love it. Thanks for sharing such a wonderful time with her. I miss our little grands so much. Maybe one day some great grands. Blessings
    QMM

  3. Ginger says:

    What a delightful outing! I love the tune the chap was playing and singing. The dancing girl–she looked like she could get overheated, putting out that kind of energy in her winter outdoor garb! 🙂

  4. Philip says:

    What a wonderful outing. You have almost got me in the Christmas spirit. . . . . . . .
    What the Hell! . . . . MERRY CHRISTMAS TO YOU AND YOURS.!

  5. D3 says:

    Looks like fun!! But honestly, where the lard-dipped birdseed cookies delicious??? I think I’d prefer gingerbread!

  6. Hilary says:

    What a great way to spend the day. I love the look on the musician’s face in the violin photo.. and your little sweetie considering taking a few dance steps.

  7. Bernie says:

    This was great AC, I really enjoyed it! Your right it should become a family tradition, can’t you just see Jboy and the Santa in the blue suit……:-)Hugs

  8. Mara says:

    Now, whoever thought of a blue Santa suit? No wonder Nikki Dee didn’t agree with it.

  9. Lorna says:

    We have a blue-clad Saint Nicholas just like that one—I bought it post-Christmas the year that my dad died; when I took it out the next year, it made me cry because I had obviously chosen it for the resemblance to my dad. How we set the traps!!

    I loved the video—there’s a still on Cuppa’s post that shows the little girl with her arms up, celtic style. My heart melts when I see kids dancing.

  10. Ruth says:

    Looks like a wonderful tradition to start. I enjoyed the video.

Leave a Reply

