Holly Jolly Nostalgia

I became a little maudlin and sentimental when looking for new Christmas music this year … because I wasn’t in point of fact looking for new music but old.

Back in the days of vinyl and/or cassettes Burl Ives singing Holly Jolly Christmas was on our playlist — except for the slight fact that playlists hadn’t been invented yet.

Somewhat surprisingly, to me, I was able to find and purchase it on iTunes. Even more surprisingly, when I thought to share it here, I also found it on YouTube. I guess nothing about the internet should surprise me anymore.

So, hit play if you also wish to wax nostalgic. Tis the season, afterall.

This entry was posted in Holidays, Music and Fiddling and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Holly Jolly Nostalgia

  1. QMM says:

    One of my favorites too. I turn on my computer radio on AIM Pro that my son put on my computer and listen to Christmas music all day. All the old tunes of course. “Thinking out of the box while wrapping a box.” love it. LOL
    QMM

  2. I’m missing Burl Ives….he was SO much of my childhood.
    Hope you’re staying warm up there!
    hughugs

  3. Mara says:

    I actually know this song and it’s on one of my many cd’s filled with Christmas music.

  4. Judy says:

    I’d rather wax nostalgic than wax the floor – which is next on my list of things I should be doing…

  5. Bernie says:

    I watched an animated Rudolph the Red Nose Reindeer just the other night with Burl Ives as narrator…..he did have a beautiful voice. I love Christmas music but always go back to The Carpenters, she has such a pure voice. My husband loved these songs as well…..:-)Hugs

Leave a Reply

