Dad Through the Ages

I took another dip in that recently discovered old Christmas card full of old photos, some more than a hundred years old. There were quite a few pictures of Dad in various stages of life. Here are some of the photos in chronological order.

Dad

Circa 1920: one summer in Portland, Maine where he'd stay with his Aunt Alice. Alice live in Montreal, but she and her husband vacationed in Maine — in their own cottage, I presume. Dig the shorts and stockings.

Dad

Circa 1925 in Montreal: Dad always had a fondness for cats. The cat-lovin gene was passed on to his son. 🙂 Stockings again.

Mom and Dad

Montreal 1941 or 1942: Mom and Dad together. It's a minor miracle to find a photo of them together like this.

Dad and Grampa

Dad and Grampa, Westmount (Montreal), 1943.

Mom and Dad

Mom and Dad in Gananoque, Ontario in 1946. Cropped from a small group photo, but I wanted to focus on my parents. Dad was a minister in Gananoque at the time. Subsequently, he tended to flowers rather than souls.

Dad and AC

Dad and AC in Gananoque, 1947. I was a few months old for what is probably my first picture. I was intrigued with something up there, maybe in the trees.

Dad

I was 15 years old when we moved from Montreal to Cooksville (now Mississauga) just outside of Toronto. Dad tended the greenhouses; this is one of several.

Dad

Also 1962: we lived in a cottage house on the nursery property. After 5 years, I went away to university and, except for a few summers, never lived here again. Mom and Dad remained for another ten years or so when the nursery was sold to become a new subdivision.

There are yet more pictures in the box, but I think it’s time to quit.

This entry was posted in Heritage and History and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Dad Through the Ages

  1. Diana says:

    I love seeing the old photos AC. It seems that you were somewhat daydreamy as a babe! I see where you got your gardening skills from!
    It looked like your dad had leg warmers on over socks. But it’s hard to really tell.
    Love Di ♥

  2. Ruth says:

    How nice to have these pictures scanned and labelled.

  3. Hi AC, another enjoyable post of family pics. Maybe next year we will post some oldies but goodies too. Thanks for sharing the photos and the commentary as well.

  4. Bernie says:

    I love seeing these older pictures and read of the histoy they express. I would love to have the pictures you do AC, just to be able to look at my parents and grandparents would be wonderful. I don’t know why I don’t have any pictures, there must be some, somewhere in my family. Merry Christmas to you and your lovely family. Sending big hugs from brutally cold Alberta…..:-)Hugs

  5. Kila says:

    Enjoyed your photos 🙂

  6. Doris says:

    Thanks for sharing these old photos. They are a delight to look at and your captions make it all so interesting.

Leave a Reply

