Humming and Whistling

We continue our somewhat staggered Christmas concert with Sarah Brightman’s, Arrival. I actually purchased this song last year after hearing it here and there over the airwaves. I frequently find myself humming the tune or at least parts of it — in an earwormish sort of way — even though, for the most part, the lyrics remain elusive to me. With my bad ears and my penchant of becoming absorbed in the tune, this happens to me a lot: with Brightman and others.

A search reveals the following to be the lyrics. Somebody has sailed away, and the song anticipates their return. I suppose some could see some Christian symbolism if they put their minds to it, but I think it would be a reach. Whatever! I still love the tune which seems to catch something of the seasonal hope and joy, and I’ll hum or whistle it quite often.

Sing, sing, sing the song they sang with us
When they sailed away
Bring, bring, bring them back again
To these lonely shores one day

We’ll be here awaiting their arrival
How that moment’s gonna shine
May they ring then in our hearts
The jubilant bells of “Auld Lang Syne”

Sing, sing, sing the song of sirens
If that is what it takes
Bring, bring, bring them back again
To each lonely heart that aches

I’ll be first to know of your arrival
I’ll be first to pour the wine
May they ring then in our hearts
The jubilant bells of “Auld Lang Syne”
[x2]

Sing, sing, sing a song of sadness
That they are so long gone
Bring, bring, bring a ray of hope
And the courage to go on

We’ll be here awaiting their arrival
How that moment’s gonna shine
May they ring then in our hearts
The jubilant bells of “Auld Lang Syne”
[x2]

Sing, sing, sing the song they sang with us
When they sailed away.

This entry was posted in Holidays, Music and Fiddling and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Humming and Whistling

  1. Ginger says:

    A very catchy tune indeed!

  2. QMM says:

    Oh I liked that very much. She is one of my favorites and I have never heard that before. Thanks for sharing.
    QMM

  3. Now, That’s a toe-tapper! I Like it!
    Here’s hoping y’all are staying warm up there in SnowLand and wishing you all a Very Merry Christmas!!
    hughugs

  4. Bernie says:

    Beautiful! I love her singing…..:-)Hugs

Leave a Reply

