Ooops!

You may notice that this site has suddenly and somewhat prematurely reverted to pre-Christmas theme. The reason is that Dunderheaded AC came perilously close to trashing his whole blog.

I should have known better than to try to do a little clever something because that little something led to my site not working — at all … as in there was absolutely nothing to see — just a blank. Neither was I able to access the Administration panel. Sweatingly and with shaking hands,  I was able to access the site via ftp and restore things to as they were because I had at least been clever enough to backup the original files on my own machine. Once I did that, somehow, even the posts re-appeared. I thought I had lost them even though I had been able to restore the basic files… although I had made a fairly recent backup of those as well and would only have lost a few posts.

Phew! One can hardly be too careful when hosting one’s own blog. Right, Lorna?

It was almost time to update the theme anyway, but I hadn’t intended to revert to my autumn header. I must now search for a winter-appropriate look. Maybe tomorrow!

Meanwhile, I wonder if it’s too early to pour a good stiff drink?!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Ooops!

  1. Donna (Texas) says:

    Make it a Double!! I clicked on your site because I saw you had posted, and it takes me back to your old site… I then clicked on the thread to This blog and it brought me safely here. To see, go on my blogroll. You’ll see Raindrops is second.
    Hope you get it all worked out!
    Hughugs

  2. Bernie says:

    Just caught up on your last 3 post AC, loved all the pictures and especially enjoyed watching the down east blizzard, amazing what some can do with today’s technology.
    Unfortunately I am sick with that horrible cold, hope yours is better.
    Glad you didn’t loose any of your post, when I was new at blogging I lost about 2 months worth of post and to this day it bothers me. Happy New Year to you, Cuppa and girls and their families………:-)Hugs

  3. KGMom says:

    Hmmm–wonder what it was you did. It would be nice to know, wouldn’t it, as otherwise you might do it again.
    Sometimes we are too clever for our own good, no?

  4. QMM says:

    I think I must have already had a toddy. I was all up and down my sidebar looking for you. Just settle down now, all will be well. LOL
    QMM

  5. Kila says:

    Glad things are intact!

  6. Diana says:

    I suppose I am slowly trying to learn all of the technical crap! Ginny lives so far away and I sometimes just try things myself. I did do my own background, whoopy! But Ginny alsways says “Don’t worry if you mess something up mom, it’s all saved”
    Saved! Saved where?!!! I sure hope she saved it cause I don’t have a clue!!!
    I have confidence in you AC, I know that you can figure all of that STUFF out!!
    Love Di ♥

  7. Lorna says:

    Oh, all right, I’ll have a glass of wine.!!! My knees are knocking just thinking about WordPress.

Leave a Reply

