Meetings and Partings in 2010

barrys-bell

Ringing the bell for Barry, 2:00 PM, February 18 2010

As Old Man 2010 and his scythe are about to fade out, I am reminded of two bloggers who have passed on this years and two bloggers whom we have had the pleasure to meet.

It looked somewhat promising for Barry when he had his final cancer treatment last February. We and the kids went out in the backyard and rang our bell as he was ringing the one at the hospital that signalled the event. Many around the world joined in.

pam

Pam passed away in April 2010

Surprisingly, suddenly and sadly, Barry passed away five months later. He is missed …

… as is Pam

… who passed away last April after a long and difficult journey with ALS.

Both were remarkable and courageous people. Sometimes the good do die much too young.

mary

Meeting Mary in October in the Balderson Cheese shop

In brighter news, Cuppa and I were fortunate enough to meet bloggers this year. Mary recognized me in a cheese shop from my many blog photos. You see? My pictures do come in handy from time to time.

Finally, we met Dale and Colleen when they dropped in on their visit to Ottawa.

Dale doesn’t blog anymore but he did so for a number of years, and we’ve kept in touch on Facebook.

He has made his way to the capital several times now, but we had never managed to connect. This time, when I read of his impending visit on Facebook, I invited him to drop by, and sure enough, on the very day I received a call that they were nearing us and had the time to drop in and say hello.

I was home at the time and Cuppa was babysitting, but I headed over there too, and shortly after, Dale and Colleen were ringing the bell.

Dale and Colleen

Meeting Dale and Colleen just before Christmas

We enjoyed a nice visit over coffee and Christmas baking before they continued their journey into the city.

While we miss Barry and Pam, we are pleased to have met Mary, Dale and Colleen. We have enjoyed connecting with Bloggers from time to time, whether it’s meeting for the first time in real life, visiting with Lorna and Dave again, or receiving a cook book from Texas, a calendar and a Christmas card from The Netherlands and yet another Christmas card from California.

Thanks for being a blogging friend in 2010, and we hope to “see” you often in 2011.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Meetings and Partings in 2010

  1. Diana says:

    Have a Happy New Year my friend! Love Di ♥

  2. Mary G says:

    It was neat to meet you, too. I won’t tell you how long I spent lurking behind some shelves trying to decide if 1.) that was who you are and 2) whether I had enough nerve to walk up and say hello. Say Hi to Cuppa for me.

  3. Ahhhh….I’m SO glad you are in my life….Happy New Year!!!
    hughugs

  4. Ruth says:

    Happy New Year to you and your family. I am certain I would recognize you and Cuppa in a cheese shop too.

  5. Lorna says:

    A Happy and Healthy New Year to you both. We should be planning something but our last evening was so great, I feel intimidated.

  6. June Kellum says:

    Dear AC,

    Though it’s doubtful we will ever meet in Real Life, I DO feel I know you (in a special-sort of magical kind of way) because I have been reading your blog(s) for a long time now- and you have visited mine quite faithfully, too. I have enjoyed reading all about your babies, especially…and have watched them grow from infants into little kids- with you and Cuppa right by their side! 🙂 It reminds me of the way Charles and I have been with our grand kids…although we are farther down that road now, being a few years ahead in age, of you and Cuppa!

    I thought of trying to send out some cards to some of my blog friends…but only had a few names and addresses….With you-I doubt a card would reach you addressed to AC in Canada! 😉 Anyway- you know I’m wishing you and your family a wonderful year in 2011!

    Junie Rose

  7. AC, this was a touching tribute to fellow bloggers.
    I too have enjoyed “meeting” you and your family online this year and always enjoy seeing the photos you so graciously post. Thanks also for visiting our blog and commenting from time to time – visits are always weldome. Happy New Year to you and your family. See you online in 2011.

  8. Dale and Colleen says:

    Lovely! It was a comfortable visit and a delight finally to have met you both. I visited the derelict pages of my old blog recently and recalled a few of those manic months with a mix of joy and sadness. I miss my blog. I’m thrilled for you, John, that you continue to write. You and Cuppa are blessed to have made so many friends here.

    Happy New Year, my friend. May good health and good fortune be yours in 2011.

  9. judy says:

    Happy New Year!
    I was able to meet two blogging friends this year. Mel from Washington and Melissa from Minnesota.
    This year I have plans to meet Kris from Oregon and Alaine who lives just down the street from me.
    Now my children can no longer refer to my blog friends as ‘invisible’!

  10. Mary says:

    Happy New Year to you and yours. May you be abundantly blessed in 2011.

    Blessings,
    Mary

  11. Jinksy says:

    AC – the red beret is bothersome – have you met this gentlemen here?…
    http://atrellisfencing.blogspot.com/2010/12/meet-trellissimo.html or even here Are you related? LOL

  12. Col says:

    I came to know Barry and Pam through your blog AC. I too admired them both greatly and was very saddened by their passing. Both were such courageous inspirational souls. I still think of them often.

    How wonderful to meet blogging buds face to face. And just to let you know.. if ever you and Cuppa make it to Winnipeg, our door is always open. Wouldn’t that be great!

Leave a Reply

