OH BABY!

Silly me! After posting all of those card-box photos in December, I thought I was done with old photos for awhile. (Like Jone Donne, just when you think I am done, I have more.) I was looking in vain for this photo of baby me, but Cuppa came to the rescue and helped me to locate it.

AC 1948

AC 1948

I wasn’t looking out of pure narcissism but for a purpose that shall possibly be revealed here within the next few days.

It was likely taken early in 1948, probably in Gananoque. I recall my mother telling me that on our way out of the studio after the sitting, she looked at some of the photographs that were posted on the studio walls and remarked that she liked a certain background. Lo and behold, when the print was ready, the photographer had used the background on which she had commented.

In the very same box, we also found a portrait of baby Cuppa. She looks like about three months old to me, so it would have been taken in 1947. I had never, to my recollection, seen this photo, but as soon as I did, I knew that it could only be Cuppa and not one of her sisters. What a cutie!

Cuppa 1947

Cuppa 1947

I was especially pleased, however, to rediscover the next photo of Cuppa. It brings back fond memories, for this was the way Cuppa looked in 1968 when we were young and in love (as distinct from being old and in love). For a few semesters it sat on the desk in my dorm room at university. I recognized it before I opened it, just from the size and … I don’t know what else … I just knew what picture it would be … even with the jacket folded closed. It’s another baby pic of sorts — my baby … as in Oh Baby!

Cuppa 1968

Cuppa 1968

This entry was posted in Heritage and History and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to OH BABY!

  1. AC and Cuppa, what a fun trip down memory lane for your readers. And you are both as good looking today.

  2. Tom says:

    Hi AC,
    I wondered where you’ve been. You haven’t been blogging on Raindrops … good to hear from you. It is nice when old photos pop up and we find ourselves reminiscing.
    Nice photos I must say… a very handsome couple, even to this day! 🙂
    Hope the new year is off to a good start for you. Later, Tom

  3. Hilary says:

    Beautiful to see your baby pics .. your features are so recognizable. And Cuppa sure was lovely in your hey day.. and of course, still is.

  4. Turtle Guy says:

    “OH BABY” is right – I wasn’t EVEN a baby in 1968.
    That makes me the baby, right?

  5. Mara says:

    So cute! So adorable! Not sure which would be my favourite.

  6. Lorna says:

    I think you should go back to wearing birds on your shirts. Could Cuppa really sit up when she was 3 months old? I’n always shocked to see how dark her hair was, and man has she got a lot of it! Great photos—can’t wait for the dénouement.

  7. Doris says:

    Love the old photos. Hope you have more to share.

  8. KGMom says:

    Well, that’s answers the question: you must have been a beautiful baby. And of course the response–but baby look at you now.
    Fun fun pics–of you both.
    And, tell Cuppa, I love the 60s bouffant hair.

  9. Bernie says:

    I so enjoy your post when it includes family photos, these pictures are so cute and I think Jboy looks a bit like Cuppa does…….:-)Hugs

Leave a Reply

