Figuring My Fingers, Part 2

When I was somewhere around the ages of ten to twelve, my mother looked at my hands one day and noticed that my fingers were crooked. She seemed to find that funny, but I didn’t. As a matter of fact, I got quite upset and started crying that they weren’t. The thought that I could be flawed was too much for me to handle at the time. Of course, I soon came to realize that I was flawed in many ways. It’s the human way after all.

Ever since, when I thought about my fingers at all, I assumed they were a birth defect. I don’t know when I realized that was probably not the best explanation, but it was fairly recent.

It may have been when I was undergoing some physiotherapy within the last few years. Fiddling, or my feeble attempt thereof, had caused quite a few aches and pains in my digits  that I was hoping the therapist could help ameliorate. Which she did — to some minor extent, at least.

But when she was evaluating my condition before treatment began, she looked at the crookedness and declared that was the result of arthritis. I replied that if that was the case then I had had arthritis for a long time: since childhood, in fact. She just looked at me and nodded sagely. Okay then.

Was it that that got me to thinking about Mom’s discovery, or had I been pondering it already? I’m not sure. But if Mom had been surprised to discover the crookedness, that might indicate that I wasn’t born with that condition but the curvature developed sometime in childhood.

That’s why I went hunting for this picture that I posted yesterday.

AC 1948

Because of my age and the fact that my hands are quite visible, I thought this might be my best chance of discovering whether I had been born with the condition.

As far as I can tell, I wasn’t because these closeups seem to show that my hands and fingers look pretty normal.

right hand

right hand

left hand
left hand

So … I guess my physiotherapist was right. Arthritis did inflict my fingers (along with other parts of my body, no doubt) whilst I was still a child.

I long ago got used to the fact that I am flawed in many ways. Or perhaps one never gets used to it. Perhaps it’s best to say that I grudgingly accept the way that I am and let it go at that. Might as well let it go … because these fingers can’t hold on too tightly anyway.


In part 1 of this special two-part presentation brought to you in AC comfort, even in winter, I was trying to determine whether my crooked index finger was longer than my somewhat straighter ring finger. Frankly, I still don’t know.

When I mentally straighten my finger, I find that it’s a close call, and frankly whether it is or isn’t, finger length is merely one indicator. Some men with longer index fingers will likely get prostate cancer and many with shorter ones, probably won’t.

Given my family history and a prostate that has already had one operation, I’m sure not counting on escaping that fate. The good news is that Dad and his prostate didn’t develop cancer until he was in his eighties, and it’s not as though something or other isn’t going to take me down around then anyway … if something or other hasn’t already got me before then, that is.

So what the heck!

This entry was posted in Heritage and History, Thoughtfulness and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Figuring My Fingers, Part 2

  1. Tom says:

    Cute close-up pics of your hands… so innocent…I’m sure I can’t say that about you now, though… hee hee…. I take a prescription drug for my thyroid and I think that helps reduce arthitic pain. My neck comes out of my shoulders crooked… one eye sits higher in my head, my head is at aflat angle on my right side on the top… duh! I’m a mess 😦

  2. Bernie says:

    Something tells me you will be just fine, your sense of humor will carry you through many things. Arthritis is a painful condition, sad that you had it so young although you haven’t said you had pain in your joints as a child…..:-)Hugs

  3. June Kellum says:

    Well- so you have crooked fingers… and so do I!! 🙂

    Mine just developed arthritis in recent years…and it mainly is in only 3 fingers-so far!! My little pinkie on the left hand is crooked as heck-and painful too!!

    Junie

  4. Hilary says:

    All very interesting about those fingers. It’s interesting to note what science looks at to determine our health.. crooked fingers, creased ear lobes.. etc. Then of course, there’s your bent sense of humour. 🙂

  5. Ginnie says:

    I’ve been busy and am now catching up on your blog. The last three entries were interesting … but the pictures of you and Cuppa are what really caught my attention. They are just adorable and it looks like you could have been brother and sister with the same type of pose and outfit, etc.

  6. Diana says:

    I started getting arthritis in my early thirties. My son seems to be following in my path as he does in many ways. I do know that children can develop arthritis too. A painful disease that I detest!
    I hope that all will be well with you AC. Love Di ♥

  7. Pearl says:

    good you could access those photos and check. a lot started earlier than we remember. vagaries of memory and notice and all. I thought I started having migraines in university but looking thru old diaries I found they started in primary school. good we have record to reconstruct from.

  8. Jinksy says:

    I’ve just had a lovely time, backpedelling through your posts and drooling over your baby pics – and Oh, Baby! pic, too. They are so clear, and don’t look even as old as the paper they’re printed on! I have very crooked little fingers, that have always looked as though they follow the contours made by all fingers being clenched in a fist all the time they were growing. Now you’ve started me thinking about them in a new light – are they deformed or just kinky?! LOL.

  9. Turtle Guy says:

    I relate all too well to this, your story of imperfect humanness. My feet tell a similar story. Thankfully it’s not arthritis. All my joints love yoga though – especially if I see my way clear to do it daily. It greatly improves my ability to play guitar.

  10. Mary G says:

    “A lot more men die with prostate cancer than of it.” This quote is present in many articles on prostate cancer treatment, one option being what is called ‘watchful waiting’. I find the premise more than slightly comforting.

Leave a Reply

