Walk On, Part 1

After quoting from Mom’s journal, I read this article about walking speed. The essence is that those who walk slowly may do so because there are underlying health issues. At least this is what one study of seniors found.

So … what does that have to do with my mother?

Well … I remember Cuppa and me walking around Canatara Park in Sarnia with mom (aka grandma) one day in her last few years. Another lady was walking with her old mother. I wondered why their granny walked fast and ours walked so s.l.o.w.l.y. Perhaps I now know the reason.

Of course, it’s not a rule that slow walkers are necessarily unhealthy and on death’s door, but walking speed can be one helpful indicator of someone’s overall health — although I don’t suppose too many doctors would be willing to go for a walk with you just to check, assuming that they had the time.

There is clearly a group of people who walk slowly and live a long time … It’s not a death sentence ….

Even so, a slow gait can be a warning sign. A walking speed of 2.5 miles an hour is very good … whereas 1.6 miles an hour or less could be an indication of medical problems.

Fast Walkers May Have More Years Ahead of Them

This entry was posted in Newsiness and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Walk On, Part 1

  1. Lorna says:

    I always try to stride, but I keep in mind that my mother, who could not feel her feet for the last few years of her life, but didn’t let that stop her, was a strider until she was in her late 70s . And who knows what to believe—maybe I’ll stride myself into catatonia.

  2. AC, interesting observation and one I had not read about, but then there are so many of those lately. Now when I get ahead of Grenville or vice versa we can tell we are healthy – at least at that moment.

  3. Diana says:

    I can’t walk fast anymore. Well maybe when the arthritis isn’t acting up!
    Love Di ♥

  4. Mary G says:

    That’s scary, AC. Like Diana, my speed is down, due to gimpy knee. A few more inches of snow, though, and I will get on the snowshoes and see how I do. I have always found them easy to use and easy on the knees and hips.

  5. Ruth says:

    I heard this headline on the news but did not want to hear the rest…I am much slower too due to my knee, but at least getting out and moving has to count for something.

  6. Bernie says:

    We either listen to the same news or read the same newspapers as I recently heard this as well. I think there is something to this AC, my mum use to hold our arms when she walked when she was in her early 60’s, she passed away at 73 but really was a shut in for many years before, I am happy to say I walk pretty swiftly, in fact my doctor has told me to slow down……..:-)Hugs

Leave a Reply

