Good Medicine

Writing yesterday, about expressing appreciation to teachers as well as others, brought to mind a time when I was the parent in a parent-teacher interview.

It was normal interview in Thesha’s  near-to-last year in elementary school. The teacher went on at great length about how wonderful a kid Thesha was and how well she was doing.

Despite the fact that I was also a teacher and could see that he was perhaps pouring it on a bit thick, my chest swelled with happiness and pride.

That was a free and unplanned moment of professional development for me. While it would never be my style to be as smooth end effusive as that teacher, I knew I could learn from him.

Up until then, I had often despaired on parent nights when my schedule would be booked by parents of kids who were really doing well. Why were they there? What could I say about a ninety-percenter: try harder? I learned that day that parents also can use all of the positive stroking that they can get. And so I was able to do better. I think.

However, I never compromised about telling the truth to parents of kids who weren’t doing very well. I would do it gently but matter-of-factly. I’m sure that I didn’t bring joy to those poor parents, but perhaps the message sometimes did some good.

Depending on the situation, the truth can bring happiness or sadness, but in either case, it can also be good medicine.

This entry was posted in Heritage and History, Thoughtfulness and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Good Medicine

  1. Ruth says:

    Sincere praise is always welcome at any age.

  2. Ginnie says:

    I’m sure you were a wonderful teacher. We need so many more like you.
    On a different note … I was just thinking how you used to be “Raindrops”, then “Snowflakes” and now you’ve got the “AC On”. I can hardly keep up with you !
    But it’s a joy to have read them all and to keep on reading them.

  3. Diana says:

    I always and still do appreciate the truth. How else could I help my child if I don’t know where the weaknesses lie? Love Di ♥

  4. D. Hough says:

    Parent-teacher evenings used to go on forever because I have twins. So double of everything. We used to have to arrive early, and we’d still be the last to leave.

  5. And I also know you probably went Beyond the call of duty to help them….You’re one of the Good Ones….
    hughugs

Leave a Reply

