Perchance to Dream

Don’t worry. I’m not about to irritate you by describing my dreams to you.

However, I do want to mention something unusual about my slumber visions. At least I think it’s unusual. On the other hand, maybe I have always done it, and maybe you have too. Me confused.

It’s just that I seldom seem to be in my dreams anymore. In a way, it’s like I am watching television. There are plots (of sorts) with scenes and characters but more often than not, no lil ole me. Maybe my subconscious is even bored of me these days. Who’s to know?

Of course, there is the chance that I probably don’t remember most of my dreams and that I might be only recalling the odd ones with the non-me actors. Maybe I’m front and centre in the rest. I really don’t think so but must admit that it’s possible.

When one of my dream characters was asked for his name in a certain situation last night, he replied: “Himelstein French.”

Now how and why did my subconscious come up with Himelstein French? What is a Himelstein French anyway?

That’s one weird subconscious let me tell ya.

This entry was posted in Lightheartedness, Thoughtfulness and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Perchance to Dream

  1. Jinksy says:

    Were you perhaps hungry? I’d translate that name like this … “Heavens! Beer and Fries, quickly!
    himel=heaven
    stein=beer pot
    French=fries

    Now I bet you wish you hadn’t asked…

  2. Diana says:

    Well I couldn’t sat AC. I am always in my dreams, at least that I can remember!
    Love Di ♥

  3. D. Hough says:

    I rarely dream, or maybe I just don’t remember them.

  4. Mary G says:

    That’s some name. I don’t know whether it’s unusual not to be in your own dream – does it happen after you have been reading a story?
    S’okay, AC. We love you anyway.

  5. KGMom says:

    Well, at least you are there to SEE the plots. Maybe it the influence of blogging…he he.

    As for dreams and how they are perceived–here’s my peculiarity–I dream in color, and in sound, and in smell, and in touch. Have not yet dreamed in taste, but perhaps that is to come. I suspect it’s too much caffeine.

  6. Donna (Texas) says:

    You’re the “viewer”…. Just try saying something. Ask a question. Once you start taking control of your dreams, and you Can….. You’ll start to understand them more.
    When I am in that situation, I say “Hello”. Doesn’t matter who To I’m speaking. Just let’s me know where I am in the dream. It can get to be fun!
    Himelstein??? Hahaaaa…. You been watching Young Frankenstein???
    Warm weekend to you!
    Hughugs

  7. Hilary says:

    I tend to go through periods of memorable dreams but for the most part I rarely recall having them. When I do, I think I’m pretty much present in all of them. Himelstein French sounds like a good character name.

  8. Kila says:

    I like Jinksy’s answer.

    I usually forget my dreams as soon as I wake up.

  9. Lorna says:

    Himmelstein French was the lover of Agatha Trueworthy, both since deceased, but in life, tempestuous, rowdy, lovable and the founders of Carleton Place. shame on you for burying that information.

  10. Pearl says:

    huh, I’m glad you said. It’s not only me whose excluded from my own dream life. A fly on the wall on my own dreams did strike me as a somewhat worrisome position. If I can’t star in my own dreams…what does that mean? When I’m literally a fly on the wall with faceted vision tho, that’s cool.

Leave a Reply

