Morning Mist

I recently read of a “gentleman” in a more southerly location who chased and beat a snow plow with his shovel. He had just finished clearing his driveway and became incensed upon having his driveway socked in again. This has tragedy has also occurred to me, so I know the feeling. When I read of the incident and the article said he was 63 years old, I nodded my head knowingly: “Aha! so he’s an old geezer. That explains it.” It then dawned on me that I am 63 … and not old. It’s funny how it seems like an old number when I read it in that sort of context.

Such incidents, such as having your driveway plowed in, do not bring joy, but there is much beauty to winter. I have recently posted here and on Facebook of how refreshing a winter walk can be, for example. While nobody believes me, I offer, below, a few pictures that hopefully show that winter has its moments.

On our way to the grands, four mornings a week, we pass the high school, and a bit of the park beside the river before we make a left turn into their subdivision. On Thursday morning, I stopped the car to gaze upon the mist hovering over the river. We pulled over to the side, rolled zapped Cuppa’s window down, and she took a few quick shots right from the car. We were almost late as it was, so we didn’t have time for anything more.

It was quite lovely.

Morning Mist

Morning Mist

Those two pictures were once meant to be the sum total of this post: hence the title. Then, I added the anecdote at the beginning of the post before rediscovering the following photo from days gone by.

Winter Photos

Taken five or six years ago, this is the "cottage" with the smoke coming out of the chimney one frosty eve. I used it as a Christmas card one year: in the days when I wasn't too lazy to create my own cards.

… and …one more for interest.

The Fire Hydrant

Late every autumn, the town has its workers attach yellow "arms" to all of the fire hydrants. I guess this picture explains why.

… and … for the fourth edit/addendum …

A significant event might occur today. They are saying that maybe, just maybe, the thermometer will rise above the freezing point for the first time since early January. Despite paying homage to winter (above), it’s very comforting to be reminded that it will come to an end. Eventually.

This entry was posted in Family and Photos and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Morning Mist

  1. Mara says:

    I love morning mist in the summer. The cows are in the fields and are covered from foot to neck in the mist and you can only see their heads. Quite eerie in a way. During the winter I tend not to like morning mist so much: it tends to freeze on the road, which can make for treacherous driving!

  2. Lori says:

    Since I live in the land of snow and cold, I totally get the frustration of shoveling the driveway, only to have the snow plow come by and fill the end of the drive way…I had to laugh when I read of this man that chased the snow plow and beat it with his shovel…I have felt like doing that a time or two or ten…earlier this winter my little man who is 5 and loves to shovel got to experience this frustration…he worked really hard for almost 2 hours on shoveling the driveway and as he stood there proudly looking at his hard work, a snow plow came by…the look on his face was priceless…I am pretty sure he wanted to chase it and beat it with his shovel..lol.

  3. Diana says:

    Oh I’ve been in that driveway situation too, only to have to shovel through the plow pile. It happens to us whenever we get snow which isn’t nearly as much as you have. Your photos were very beautiful AC! And I did take my dogs for an early morning snowy walk! They love it when it’s not too cold of coarse! Love Di ♥

  4. Paul says:

    It is interesting how our definition of old gets revised each year.

    I like the early sunlight on the trees and mist.

  5. Ginnie says:

    Paul is so right…our definition of old gets revised every year. Ah, to be a young 63 again!!
    Your winter scenes are lovely … from afar. We had a cold, wet rainy day yesterday and I had to drive to Chapel Hill (an hour north of us). I was most thankful that it wasn’t snow, sleet or ice.

  6. June Kellum says:

    ….absolutely lovely…your winter!

    Junie Rose

  7. Lorna says:

    My favourite was the invisible fire hydrant.

  8. Mary G says:

    You have some good shots there – the smoke from the chimney shot looks like something a pro would sell to a magazine.
    Hey, I found the porch floors today. And the YD’s long haired dog hauled in enough wet snowballs on her fur and in her feet to soak the living room rug.

  9. Hilary says:

    Such wonderful images. I love the misty morning shots. It’s such a treat when you can capture magic like that.

  10. Ruth says:

    Some people are old at 40 and others are young at 80. We hit a warm -5C on this day and then got socked with 15 cm of unforecasted snow. We have very little open water here to make morning mist. My husband cleared the driveway today and then the plow socked us in with a solid 3 foot wall before we left.

  11. Col says:

    Such lovely photos. I love fog on a winter’s morn… a rare, but sometimes occurrence here.

  12. Mary says:

    Beautiful images! Wow.

Leave a Reply

