A Head-Scratcher

Oddly enough, after a few months of very frequent posting, I don’t feel like writing a whole lot. Maybe the long winter has finally frozen my brain. Who’s to know?

So, it’s good to have a post in mind that requires very little writing, for words pretty well fail me on this topic.

In this article from The Telegraph (British newspaper), it is reported that many potentially interesting archaeological sites have been identified in Saudi Arabia. However, clerics favour leaving them unexplored at best or ruining them at worst.

“In October last year, a Saudi clerical body was reported to have renewed long-standing calls for the demolition of several historic Islamic sites – including the birthplace of the Prophet Muhammad and the grave of his mother.”

Huh? Splain that please, Lucy.

For one thing: “The Kingdom’s ultraconservative clerics believe that the veneration of ancient sites associated with the Prophet Mohammad and his family is heretical, and want potential shrines obliterated.”

The other reason is totally opposite from the first. “Fears that archaeology could cast light on Saudi Arabia’s pre-Islamic past also led them to campaign against excavations.”

If those two reasons are polar opposites and beyond normal reason … well …

To reiterate: this topic suits me and my non-writing mood well because it leaves me speechless. I mean, what can you possibly say about such thinking?

This entry was posted in Newsiness and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to A Head-Scratcher

  1. Paul says:

    Began reading a book yesterday by Dan Ariely – Predictably Irrational. I’m beginning to learn that people don’t make sense, aren’t rational and are just plain weird. Except me and you, of course.

  2. judy says:

    I’m finding February to be good for pondering.

  3. Hummmmm….well….Mr Mohammad was not a very nice guy. But what do I know.
    Hope you thaw out real soon up there!!
    hughugs

  4. Bernie says:

    Hi AC one thing I have learned is that clerics can spin things to suit their own point of views, it is almost as though no one cares for the truth anymore only have “whats in it for me” attitudes. It is not only clerics and politicians who does this….kind of sad. I want my children and grandchildren to know history as it truly was…..:-)Hugs

  5. Lori says:

    Huh? I’ve come to realize that there are a lot of things that go on that make no sense. I totally get the whole brain freeze thing. 🙂

  6. Diana says:

    Well I don’t know what to say. I am indeed speechless!
    Love Di ♥

  7. Lorna says:

    I’m not speechless. Too bad.

  8. AC, why even try to make sense out of nonsense? It would just be a waste of thinking power and there are so many things to ponder, like where are my socks?

  9. Pearl says:

    It makes sense to me.

    Like Jesus, the Prophet Mohammed said look past me to God. Do not venerate me.

    It is an obstacle to practical make holy relics from people who are mortal. Do we make a pilgrimage to where Martin Luther King Jr. lived, or do we try to live by his moral code and uphold the principles that drove him?

    The pre-Islamic past doesn’t seem opposed to that. The goal is to be looking at the life under Allah now. To explore polytheistic roots of the culture is to distract people from the looking forward.

  10. Jinksy says:

    How about ???!!!! That’s all I’d want to say, too! 🙂

  11. Cathy says:

    You’re a hoot, AC. And don’t worry. The speech will return.

    Tell you what. I’ve been scratching my head over so much insanity lately that I’ve had to up the dose on my Rogaine.

Leave a Reply

