Water and Ice

On Sunday, we drove up to the Mill of Kintail for a stroll that is a little different from walking the neighbourhood. For once, we did not take Nikki Dee with us to the mill; I am sure that we have for the past three or fours times anyway.

sign

There wasn’t a whole lot of new stuff to see. Aside from a few other walkers , this red squirrel and a few chickadees were the only signs of life.

squirrel

Mostly, we took pictures of the river and the ice and the interesting interaction between the two. The water flows fast enough that the river doesn’t freeze over completely. Occasionally, it disappears under the ice, but for the most part, it’s visible: just less of it than in the warmer months as the sides pretty well freeze over by the banks.

Indian River in February

Indian River in February

Indian River in February

Indian River in February

The cold weather has it’s charm, but lookee here, I’ve been charmed enough for one winter.

This entry was posted in Family and Photos and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Water and Ice

  1. Mara says:

    I like the squirrel, but don’t they hibernate? Or am I completely off the mark here?

  2. AC, hope you and Cuppa strapped on the yaktrax (sp?) as it looks like you still have lots of winter remaining. We are back into frosty mornings after being spoiled by a few warm days last week, but no snow.

  3. Goodness Ac! LOVE the photos but you can keep the snow! Here’s hoping it’ll warm up quick for you all!!
    hughugs

  4. Ginnie says:

    I have one comment to make…. BRRRRRRRRRRR.

  5. Mary G says:

    That last shot is spectacular – I love the depth of it. Also amused by your other commenters, who must live to the south of us. I figure we have at least another month of snow and we could still be getting it in April. The joys of eastern Ontari, ary, ario.

  6. Hilary says:

    What a lovely setting. Someone has been kind to the wildlife with all those seeds.

  7. Lorna says:

    The Mill is a beauteous spot. So is my couch.

  8. Regenia says:

    I really enjoyed the pictures, expecially the squirrel. But I have to tell you, since my husband and I moved to NC from Western New York, just looking at snow makes me feel cold and wet! Sure rang true when you said you’d been charmed enough for this year.

  9. KGmom says:

    What lovely winter vistas. I do understand how many of us are wearying of the cold cold cold of winter, though.

  10. Bernie says:

    Such beautiful photos AC, and yes I am just about done with winter for this year but somehow I don’t think winter is finished with me…..:-)Hugs

  11. Diana says:

    I’ve been charmed enough too AC. But your photos are very lovely. I wouldn’t mind taking a stroll there myself! Love Di ♥

Leave a Reply

