To be Taken with a Grain of Salt

oscarsTomorrow is Oscar night! It’s a family even around these parts although most of us ever manage to see very few, if any of the contenders.

It’s a bit different this year because AC and The Cupster have actually seen four of the nominated flicks — a record of some kind. In order of viewing they are Inception, The King’s Speech, Black Swan and The Social Network (as a DVD).

inceptionI long ago rendered my opinion that Inception was an epic failure and will not be pleased if it wins anything of significance. For all I know, however, it may sweep since I seem to be the only guy on the planet who dismissed it as a glorified chase and shoot flick. Apparently, my feeble mind is unable to grasp the glorious nuances of this cinematic masterpiece.

the-kings-speech-posterMoving on: we saw The King’s Speech during the Christmas holidays and loved it. From what I can tell, Colin Firth should be a shoo-in for best actor, and I wouldn’t be surprised for the movie to win as Best Film: which means that it probably won’t happen. If you haven’t seen, do try to atone for your transgression as it’s a feel good flick that actually got a bit of an applause at the end in our theatre. That must be meaningful because here in Canada we taciturn northerners are prone to only applaud at hockey games.

Black_Swan_PosterA few weeks ago, we drove into town (actually the city) to see Black Swan. It is a unique offering in which you I sometimes didn’t know if I was coming or going. Nevertheless, I was pleasantly surprised and think that it will get some Oscar interest. I don’t know if it’s uniqueness will be a help or hindrance. I would be almost stunned of anyone other than Natalie Portman were to win as Best Actress (or is it now pc to say Best Female Actor?).

the-social-network-movieAs for Social Network. It was okay, but I can’t see it competing with Speech or Swan in any category. It’s a good movie for DVD in my opinion, and I’m just as happy that I didn’t spend the necessary $6000 to see it in the theatre: $6000 being the Canadian price for two admissions, but the price does include popcorn, so it’s almost worth it.

So there you have it: my quick take and a few predictions. You can toss that grain of salt behind your shoulder now.

 

 

This entry was posted in Newsiness and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to To be Taken with a Grain of Salt

  1. PBS says:

    Hey this comment worked! Yay! I’ve seen Inception and Social Network. I (and friends) didn’t really “get” inception, but I liked Social Network quite well. Not sure if it’s quality enough to win, though.

  2. Bernie says:

    The King’s Speech and Colin Firth are my picks as well AC, I didn’t like Black Swan or Inception but the word on the street is they will win many awards, can’t imagine why.
    I think everyone should see The King’s Speech, such a good movie. Have a great Oscar weekend….:-)Hugs

  3. judy says:

    I’ve only seen The King’s Speech and hope it wins absolutely everything. Although my husband has seen many of the others, he still is hoping The King’s Speech takes all.

    Normally, movie going makes me TIRED. But TKS had me right from the opening scene and when it was over I was longing for more.

  4. Mara says:

    I haven’t seen any of the films, although there is one film I would like to see which is nominated for best foreign picture. I can’t remember its name though, I only know it’s a French Canadian one.

    I won’t watch the Oscars this year either: it’s in the middle of the night over here and I have to work again on Monday.

  5. Diana says:

    I love watching any awards shows AC. I have no idea why! I guess I just enjoy seeing the stars! I haven’t seen any of the movies nominated.
    I enjoy the Daytime Emmys the most.
    Love Di ♥

  6. Donna (Texas) says:

    Haven’t seen any of these, but would love to see The King’s Speech. Anything English works for me….
    Hughugs

  7. Ruth says:

    My daughter is bringing me her copy of Inception next week. The King’s Speech better win big! It seems that women who do a good job of portraying someone mental ill or a criminal have the top chance at Best Actress.

  8. Hilary says:

    I’m way behind on movie viewing and haven’t seen any of these. Thanks for your Oscar takes.

  9. Cathy says:

    It was good to get your take on these movies. We LOVED The King’s Speech. Haven’t seen the others and probably won’t. Isn’t The Black Swan reeeeeally creepy. I just can’t take it. Can’t.

    Was a little disappointed to read Christopher Hitchens on The King’s Speech. He reeeeally felt the director misrepresented Churchill’s admiration and support of Edward and the royal families initial attitudes toward Hitler.

    History be damned. I loved the movie and am madly infatuated with Colin Firth.

  10. Lorna says:

    I love the Oscars, but I can’t watch the show—there is always such a probablity that someone will say something really outrageous or stupid. I’m agreeing with you (except about Inception) and of course I hope we win Best Foreign Film. I also love the post-Oscars photos and bloopers

  11. Sue says:

    I go to the cinema about once every five years – the last film I saw at one was ‘The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe’, just over five years ago. So I guess I’m due for another – and we’ve had several recommendations to see ‘The King’s Speech’. Even then, I think I’ rather wait for the DVD. I see from the BBC site that it has, indeed, won a lot of awards including the one for the best film. Inception (in which I have no interest) won a lot of technical awards. I looked at a review of Black Swan, but it’s R-rated, and I boycott those in principle – I’m far too prone to nightmares to see anything considered a thriller.

  12. I have to go with previous posters in that we haven’t seen any of these nominated films OR any others in a movie theatre in the past few years. We live in a very small town with the closest movie theatres being a 90-minute drive in either direction. There is a small old movie theatre in the next town which shows a feature film every weekend (Fri-Sat) so perhaps one (or more) of these films will get here in time. We do use Netflix for online movie viewing so hope that The King’s Speech will be available before too long. Also missed the Oscars – on purpose.

  13. ~sWaMpY~ says:

    Since I’ve not seen them ALL, I can only comment with minimal accuracy. But, then who needs to be accurate? Loved The King’s Speech. Thought that Portman did a great job, but Black Swan scared the bejeebus out of me. Thought Hailey did a great job in True Grit but missed John Wayne. That’s about it.
    The best thing about the Oscars is the dresses. Halle Berry: Classy as always.
    Sandra Bullock: What happened to her bangs? Natalie Portman: Stylin’ in a “maternity frock. ” Nicole Kidman: AACCHHKK ! Ugly. And on and on.
    Was not impressed with the host and hostess. Loved the PS 22 School Kids. Best part of the entire program.

  14. Ginnie says:

    I loved “The King’s Speech” and there was applause at the end of it in our theater too. I have heard that seldom in our area. The rest will have to wait … maybe Netflix will be the way I view them.

  15. KGmom says:

    AC–hey, this is my post…previewing the Oscars (only it’s now after the Oscars).
    Good call on things.
    We saw some of the 10 best nominees: King’s Speech; Inception; Toy Story 3; True Grit; The Kids are All Right; Winter’s Bone; The Social Network.
    I thought Inception was a crock–stupid premise.
    Loved all the other movies. Especially loved Winter’s Bone–which we knew didn’t stand a chance up agains the heavy duty competition, but worth seeing anyway.
    We did not see The Fighter or Black Swan.

Leave a Reply

