Crafting in My Dotage

How did this happen? Great minds want to know. How does the most uncrafty guy in the whole wide world end up researching crafts that he can make with the grandgirl? I get the morning off from the ankle-biters, and I end up researching and preparing crafts for heaven’s sakes. What’s going on?

So, we make our little craft. I have to do one ahead of time to figure out what in blazes I’m doing. Besides, we have to have two of everything, so he needs one too. He’s too young to lend a hand though, so Nikki Dee and I do our crafting while he’s in slumberland.

Puppets

AC is going to the dogs.

As soon as we complete our project, she’s ready to share my apple. I bring an apple every day or every day that I remember. She remembers and is actually disappointed when I forget.

Puppets and an Apple

She quite likes wearing a dress, and please note the poodle ears and accouterments in her hair. There was also a time when she wouldn't keep them in for neither love nor money.

Have you noticed that the girl who used to be at pains to ignore the camera has done an about face (so to speak :))? Actually, this isn’t new news, but when you’re as old as I am, repeating yourself is part of the shtick. People expect it, so who am I to fight it?

As for him. He has a thing for shoes. He got himself into sister’s runners are soon as he woke up. Even before we got his pants on him.

No Pants and Her Shoes

A thing for shoes, but not pants, apparently.

 

This entry was posted in Family and Photos, Grandchildren and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Crafting in My Dotage

  1. Diana says:

    That was funny AC, a thing for shoes but not pants, LOL! You are such a good gramps! I do the same though. When Sarah is coming to spend the night I always try to have some project prepared. I had to watch over Jack again yesterday and gave him the job of washing all of Katie’s old dinosaurs, there are at least 100 of them. It kept him elbow deep in sudsy water and happy for a good hour! Love Di ♥

  2. QMM says:

    A/C you are indeed the best of gramps. The only thing I ever got from either of my grandfathers was a sermon. I think Nikki Dee is a model in progress, thanks to you. LOL They are both so entertaining. BTW enjoyed your previous post also.
    QMM

  3. Actually, I think you are Very crafty…Hahaaa…..And they are Adorable! Job Well Done!
    hughugs

  4. Hilary says:

    So sweet that you research and prepare crafts for her. You might have stumbled onto a great way to introduce formerly/potentially-rejected foods with that apple habit. I’d be tempted to bring a different fruit to share each time.

  5. Mary G says:

    I’ve done paper bag puppets more than a few times. I’m a few years ahead of you with craft skills as Little Stuff is going to be eight soon, but I will dig through the rusty memory and see if I can come up with some stuff you can use.
    I’ve just read through all the posts I missed while rewriting a By Law and other fun stuff. I love the Fran conversation and I like the spring template. We can dream, eh? My daugher is desperate to flee south to sun and warmth and is hounding me to go with her. I must admit I am more than tempted. JG can dog sit ….. snicker.
    I have a photo of daughter mentioned above in diaper and shoes … her sister’s too. Ah, the joys of toddlerdom.

  6. Regenia says:

    This is just so heart warming. I think I’ve said it before, but it is well worth repeating. You have beautiful, wonderful grandchildren.

  7. Ginnie says:

    I love the comment that QMM left about only getting sermons from her Grandpa ! It is fun to see you play along with the kiddies…who has the most fun? As for “him” in the shoes I notice he’s getting his curls back !

  8. Bernie says:

    My vote goes to you for grandfather of the year! Crafts are so much fun, in fact I only enjoy them when I am playing children…..these kids are adorable!….:-)Hugs

Leave a Reply

