Dave’s Symphony

I got a note from Dave yesterday. He was my best teacher friend in times past who taught music while I did my durndest to teach English or geography to the adolescents who were unfortunate enough to draw me as their instructor. Dave and I kept in touch after retirement when we both lived in Sarnia, usually meeting for lunch or coffee once a month or so. We don’t always do so well with email now that we live at opposite ends of the province, but we do manage to remain loosely connected.

We started out teaching at Northern Collegiate in Sarnia, but I eventually followed him to Lambton Central where we’d often have a game of chess in our spare period or over lunch hour. Eventually, he returned to Northern, and I was destined to follow several years later.

Even though Dave was a great teacher and a super musician, AC was audacious enough to often sing or hum to him during our chess matches. It wasn’t a deliberate attempt to distract him, but it sure was nervy of little old me to demonstrate my lack of talent to such a talented guy. One of my favourite pieces to intone when we were engaged in a chess battle was We Shall Overcome. Sometimes my droning worked well, and I did [overcome].

Apparently, while my feeble brain atrophies apace, Dave is the one overcoming, for I just received a note from him. He wrote that he had composed a symphony and that a former student of his had made it available online. I am proud of having Dave as a friend, and I wonder if you would like to play his piece while you do whatever you do online. Then, maybe, you could comment a brief note of appreciation and support, of which I shall make him aware.

Dave’s Symphony: Nr 1

This entry was posted in Music and Fiddling and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Dave’s Symphony

  1. PBS says:

    Oh, it’s so beautiful, what a talented guy! Bet you both are glad that you stayed in contact.

  2. QMM says:

    It was beautiful A/C. All the movements stir up different emotions for sure. Did my daily meditation on the Passion with this in the background. From suspense and mystery to glory. Thanks for sharing.
    QMM

  3. Well, I am Most certainly…musically illerate! I listened and thought it would be a wonderful score for a movie….I kept trying to find the “tune” but couldn’t….I know, I’m Classically….deprived.
    Forgive me….
    hughugs

  4. Hmmm maybe it was my connection or that everyone was trying to listen at the dsame time, but could not connect despite tryi8ng a few times…so will try again on the morrow. And then will re-post a comment.

  5. Bernie says:

    Absolutely beautiful…..you have a very talented friend AC. I enjoyed it so very much. Thank you for sharing with us…….:-)Hugs

  6. Linda Fraser says:

    This is a soft and interesting piece of music. Because of the sad events in Japan this week, I kept thinking of tsunami images while I listened although I kept trying to think of soft, spring thoughts. I cannot imagine even considering trying to put a symphony together. How inspiring! Congratulations to the hard work of your friend coming to fruition! Thank you for sharing, AC!

  7. Mara says:

    I could see some moving story or a romantic interlude with this music in the background. Very beautiful!

  8. Ginnie says:

    Amazing, AC ! You have a very talented friend. It must have been very soothing for you to listen to his symphony. I hope it helped a bit to get you out of the doldrums.

  9. AC, try and try again is a good thing because tonight I was able to hear your friend, Dave’s symphony – playing in the background as I post. It’s lovely – THANKS for the link.

  10. Diana says:

    It must feel pretty darn nice knowing someone with such a talent. It was just beautiful!
    Love Di ♥

  11. Lorna says:

    For some reason, although the music is not alike at all, this reminded me of the first time I heard Rachmaninoff. There was something in it that I hadn’t known before but which pleased me.

  12. Philip says:

    The music was lovely, even to my untutored ear. Aren’t you lucky to have a musically talented friend. Does he know you are a fiddler?

  13. Ruth says:

    Yes, it is very soothing beautiful music. I enjoyed the entire piece. The description of how the music was uploaded and the relationship with your friend was also very interesting.
    A little more sophisticated than “we will overcome” 🙂

  14. Jinksy says:

    I may just do that, if No.1 son works his magic for me at the weekend. 🙂

  15. ~sWaMpY~ says:

    Don’t you just love it when people who are special to you do something great, like write a symphony ? Just gives me warm fuzzies and then I try to live vicariously through them as I lie on the couch doing nothing productive !
    I will be back to give it a listen. Right now, am off and running to listen to a different kind of music at “Festival of the West” in Scottsdale. Just love the old Western music and Cowboy Poetry ! Not to mention, the Arizona temperature reached the 90’s yesterday.
    Thanks so much for being a diligent and faithful commenter on the American Idol posts at my place. I love hearing what others think about the performers.
    Have a great day. As Arnold says, “I’ll be back.” (to listen to the symphony)

  16. Kila says:

    Thank you for sharing with us!

    I don’t think I knew you were an English instructor. Can’t say I’m surprised. How fortunate those students were. I have a close relative who is an English teacher at the high school level.

  17. Hilary says:

    I’m listening to it now and it sounds wonderful. My son would like this. He has just obtained a complicated program which allows him to compose orchestral music as well. I’ll have him listen when he’s home. Very impressive!

  18. Bernie says:

    Just popping in to say hello and wish you and Cuppa a good weekend…:-)Hugs

Leave a Reply

