Crafty AC Pushes His Limits

Before bragging about my rampant craftiness, I would like to wish you a Happy Springtime in the following video.

Now, back to our regularly scheduled programing.

Recently I posted this photo of AC’s attempts at being a crafty, old coot.

Puppets

As I said at the time, being a crafter is a highly unlikely pastime for moi, for I have no talent or inclinations in that direction. But, I do want to do something postive with Nikki Dee during my time with her, so I am giving it the old, college nursery school try. (I say Nikki Dee and not Zach because we usually do a craft whilst the boy has his lengthy nap. It works better for the addled Buppa to only have to deal with one crafter at a time and the older one at that.)

We’ve done several versions of hand puppets and things with gluing cotton balls on construction paper. One day, we did a flower and put a picture in the middle. This is Zach’s, but Nikki Dee had one too.

Flower Child

She looks forward to whatever the heck I’m going to bring next and usually grabs my backpack and dives into it the moment that I arrive for my afternoon vigil.

So, the old guy figured that he’d better gear up a little. Cuppa took me shopping for supplies, and I now have more to work with — albeit without much of a clue of what to do with the stuff.

craft time

I do have the following simple activity lined up the the next two days, however.

I have scanned some pictures from some from her early Readers and typed words that go with the pictures. She will be given the pictures and words (cut out) separately, and we will work on pasting the correct words onto the appropriate images.

craft time

I have two such sheets ready to go, so when she tires of one, we have another ready to take its place.

This activity should get me through two days. She’ll visit a friend for a third day, so I’ll only have one more day to figure out for later in the week.

Wish me luck … and stop that snickering. I mean it!

This entry was posted in Grandchildren, Lightheartedness, Newsiness and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Crafty AC Pushes His Limits

  1. KGMom says:

    You are indeed a very good grandpa.
    Well done.

  2. Video…..Hahahahaaa……Loved it!!! And NONONO I don’t wish I lived there! Yuck! It’s STILL Snowing! That is just plain WRONG!!Lololol….. Its been in the 80’s here last week and this week…What happened to our freeze before Easter??? It still may happen…geeeez!
    I use to take those magnetic letters and the grands and I would sit on the floor in front of the refrigerator and play school! I’d pick letters and let them complete the words…like a mini-scrabble affair…I still miss those times…Enjoy!
    hughugs

  3. Bernie says:

    I sure wish I had of had a grandfather like you growing up, it is wonderful what you do with your grandchildren, it is so uplifting to see.
    Snowing here again today…..errrrr!…….:-) Hugs

  4. Lorna says:

    Try not to start any crafts with beads—beads can be beautiful but they wreck your vacuum cleaner, they stick to the bottom of your socks, and if you’re under three, they look mighty tasty.

  5. mary g says:

    So glad I missed the fine weather in your video. Eat your heart out, crafty grandpa. Oh, have you thought of fingerpaint? Warm weather activity but they love it. Keep hose handy.

  6. Diana says:

    Watch out AC, there just may be an artist hiding in you somewhere! Looks like fun however it comes out.
    I love your video, not your spring however. But it was fun seeing the cute grands and I absolutely love that Canadian accent!!
    Love Di ♥

  7. jinksy says:

    Oh, how this takes me back! Salt dough is great for little fingers to create with -if you don’t have a recipe, I’ll hook one out for you. Good luck with the sticky-snippy-foldy bits! LOL

Leave a Reply

