Passing Diversions

friend requestWhile you are puzzling over my wazzit post, below, in an effort to win a bushel or more of prize Lanark County rocks, please permit me pass the time with some internet diversions that I have recently come across.

This weekend, I received a friend request from a music site which I’ve barely visited in the last few years.

That’s my would-be friend over there ? ? on your right. Doesn’t she look like the kind of lonely gal who needs to solicit friends? Well maybe since I put it that way — solicit … ahem.

One fine thing about moving my blog from Blogger to my own domain using Word Press, is that I can now read spam. Yes, there’s a spam trap which allows me to peruse the offending comments before sending them into the trash of my forgetfulness. Ye visitors are spared these gems, but it’s a good thing that I can see them because on infrequent occasions I find that a legitimate comment has been identified as spam: a decision that I am able to override.

It’s pretty amusing really. The spammers go to lengths to make their comment look legitimate. Example: “Today, I went to the beach front with my children. I found a sea shell and gave it to my 4 year old daughter and said ‘You can hear the ocean if you put this to your ear.’ She placed the shell to her ear and screamed. There was a hermit crab inside and it pinched her ear. She never wants to go back! LoL I know this is entirely off topic but I had to tell someone!” Lovely comment, but the link goes to a Polish site of videos etc. I think I can guess of what ilk the videos may be, but I may be wrong. I won’t even post the link since adverting is exactly what spammers are after.

I am now frustrated, however, because what I really wanted to show you in this post is a beautiful video of time-lapse photography of the Aurora (Northern Lights) in Norway. But it’s hosted on vimeo.com, and, for reasons beyond my low IQ comprehension, vimeo is somewhat odd about sharing their stuff. I think they want me to join, but I am perverse that way. It’s now even disabled on the site where I originally saw the video, so there’s no point in me linking there either.

Wait! Eventually, I found it on YouTube. I’m so glad.

This entry was posted in Lightheartedness. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Passing Diversions

  1. Ruth says:

    Gorgeous!! (and I am not talking about “her”)

  2. KGMom says:

    Oooo la la.
    You have some “friends” there, AC.
    Spam??? R-i-g-h-t.
    I believe you.

  3. Ginnie says:

    Ah, yes…internet diversions. That’s one name for it ! I have a spam blocker with my ISP so I can check and open or take them out of spam if I want. I never do that unless I recognize the sender because sometimes just clicking on their message will do damage.
    Poor girl does look kindof lonely … maybe she needs a good book or a hobby to get her mind off her troubles.

  4. Mara says:

    She has a look of Sophia Loren about her.
    I can imagine why people would believe in the supernatural after seeing those aurora lights! They are fantastic though and I would love to one day see them in person.

  5. Bernie says:

    AC you are spending far to much cleaning out your “spam” folder…..lol

    I am blessed to be able to see some wonderful Northern Lights here in Alberta as well as when I was visiting Yellowknife. They are beautiful. This video is lovely…….:-)Hugs

  6. Doris says:

    How glorious!! (And I am referring to the Aurora Borealis). : -)

  7. Diana says:

    An odd coincidence AC since my husband and I were just talking about the Northern Lights the other day. He has seen them once in his travels, not me. I find them very beautiful and haunting!
    I have my own domain on Blogger which allows me to read spam as well.
    Love Di ♥

  8. Lorna says:

    from now on, I want my Northern Lights with music.

  9. Pearl says:

    Yeah, I’ve also noticed the spam had gotten a lot more sophisticated over the last few months.

Leave a Reply

