Photos and Answer

On Saturday, we continued Cuppa’s birthday celebration by lunching out before taking in a few stops on the Maple Run Studio Tour held in Pakenham. It turned out that the highlights were the buildings more than the crafts.

Note: The answer to Wazzit? can be found in the photo captions. I would have been surprised if anyone had guessed because it’s not part of very many people’s experience. I’m pretty sure I wouldn’t have guessed.

New Log House

This awesome new log house greeted us at our first stop. This place was new to us: on a road that we hadn't previously discovered.

 

New Log House

We have plenty of old log houses in this area, but this new structure is quite stunning.

 

New Log House

Part of the deck and roof.

 

New Log House

We were struck by the size of the logs used in this place. Can't imagine the cost.

 

New Log House

A very interesting rocker that was very comfortable. The answer to "Wazzit?" is in this photo.

 

Snowshoes

Do you see it now?

 

New Log House

Another stop on the tour just around the corner form the other place: a bed and breakfast establishment. The canoe is so Canadian that I had to include this photo.

 

This entry was posted in Near and Far and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Photos and Answer

  1. KGMom says:

    You know, as soon as I saw the log house–even before scrolling down–I knew. Is the wood behind the woven part a part of the snowshoe? Of was that part of the wall where the snowshoes hung?

  2. Ohhhh…..the weave of the snowshoe….Cool log cabin Ac!!!
    hughugs

  3. Mary G says:

    Lovely spot. I am sorry I missed my chance to guess the snowshoes. Mine are now high tech, with cleats, but not nearly so pretty.

  4. QMM says:

    Well finally the answer. That was pretty neat. You are very observant and creative. Absolutely beautiful photos of the beautiful log cabin.
    QMM

  5. Hilary says:

    It occurred to me as soon as you said “because it’s not part of very many people’s experience.” Just a few days too late. 🙂

  6. jinksy says:

    OK, so I guessed wrong, but the weaving technology probably dates back to the same era!

  7. Diana says:

    I could live there.
    Love Di ♥

  8. Lorna says:

    I could put our condo on the side verandah.

  9. Kila says:

    Beautiful!

    I find it interesting that the ceiling and walls inside are finished off. I hadn’t seen that before in log home. It makes sense though, as it’s much cleaner and neater that way.

    P.S. I really appreciate you!

  10. First, belated birthday greets to Cuppa from our part of the world. Second, the Wassit answer was very unexpected (at least on my part). You really had us snowed on this one, AC.

Leave a Reply

