That Sinking Feeling

This sight greeted me the other day.

tap

It was very telling in a number of ways.

For one thing, it speaks of my lack of expertise/ambition to put my hand to anything even the slightest bit handymanish. You see, the plug-jiggy hasn’t been working for quite some time now, and I have no intention of trying to fix it. Someday, when I have made my fortune, I’ll have the plumber come in.

I guess, this, at least in part, gets filed under the “Use it or Lose It” category. While I have never been an adept at handymanishisms, there was a time when I might have been tempted to at least make an effort. I once had a modicum of ambition after all: for example, when I re-guttered one side of our two-storey home all by my little, old young self and replaced and painted fascia boards while I was at it.

However, as I aged and seldom put my clumsy hand to various and sundry handymanishisms, whatever slight bit of confidence and/or aptitude that I might once have possessed utterly vanished. Presently, I am at the point in life when I find hanging a picture to be a daunting task.

Yup! Use it or lose it.

What the dixie cup solution of Cuppa’s also shows is how our minds differ: mainly, she has one, while mine is MIA.

My response to dealing with the sink’s inability to hold water was to simply make do: turn the water off and on as required to get by. I’d turn it on to wet the cloth, off as I washed, and back on to rinse.

Meanwhile, Cuppa used her problem solving, lateral thinking ability to devise a work-around. A simple dixie cup keeps the plug mechanism depressed and allows her to fill the sink.

She uses her considerable brain capacity like this all of the time in myriad ways. I use my less than considerable brain power to hold the lady’s brilliance in awe.

Um …. I wrote that this was telling in a number of ways, and I did have at least three in mind when I typed those words … but I can’t remember the third right now … which is also quite telling in its own right. Sadly. I guess two is still a number, though (he said, shrugging).

In fact, the situation is so doggone sad-making that I think I’ll stop here and now to weep for my MIA brains. This post is long enough anyway, but, if I remember which is a rather huge IF, I may pick up the thread at another time.

This entry was posted in Lightheartedness, Thoughtfulness and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to That Sinking Feeling

  1. Ginnie says:

    Well, AC, you are certainly all over the map this week … from “passing aversions” to defective taps! I had a faucet that alway gave off little drips and it was driving me nuts. I found a “do it yourself” booklet on plumbing stuff in a used book store and actually fixed it myself !!
    Or, you can always use the Internet for info. GO FOR IT…

  2. Mara says:

    That’s the good thing about living in a housing association house: if something’s broken, I just phone and they send someone round! I love renting…

  3. To Truly “get your moneys worth” from that faucet and plug…go to the store and get one of those Gripper things (you unscrew lids with it) and just place it over the drain…you may even have one laying in a junk drawer somewhere.
    I’d send a plumber to you for no charge but…the travel charges would be a bit high…Hahaaa…
    Happy weekend Ac…
    hughugs

  4. KGMom says:

    So, you’re not a DIY kinda guy.
    My husband’s father was a contractor, so when my husband was growing up, he worked with his dad. He learned LOTS of repair things–he has even replaced faucets and plug-jiggies several times in our house.

  5. Pearl says:

    A skill with kludge is a skill you can use. It’s these nattering little things in life that take the majority of the energy. Especially the getting-around-to-it-inner-nag energy.

  6. Ruth says:

    Those plugs do not last long. I just pull them out when they fail and get a rubber stopper.

  7. Hilary says:

    It’s ok.. you don’t need to do the thinking when your wife is clearly capable of handling those problems. 😉

  8. Bernie says:

    I have similar problems AC, although I do check the Internet to see if I can fix it myself before calling out for help. Surprisingly I have learned many things but have a whole lot more to learn……..:-)Hugs

  9. Diana says:

    I love that my husband is handy. Now if only he were her long enough to actually fix something! LOL!
    I am lucky though as my son is handy too so if need be, I can always call on him.
    You may not be a handyman AC but you sure can get a good laugh out of me!
    Love Di ♥

  10. AC, while not handy with tools, you are dandy with words, my friend.

Leave a Reply

