A Nod to the Crocuses

It’s a sign of a cool spring when I don’t take a batch of crocus pictures. I love these little harbingers, so photographing them is one of the things that I look forward to doing every spring. I can count on at least one beautiful day when I am able to get down to crocus level and snap away. But not this year.

Actually, there was a fleetingly nice day this year too — last Thursday. But I didn’t have my camera with me. So, I contented myself with a few quick ones with Cuppa’s compact to record the event.

These little beauties don’t last long and seemed to be at their peak last Thursday. With a wet day or three in store, I don’t think I’ll have another proper opportunity, so I’ll go with what I have.

Crocuses

The kids' display improves yearly as these little guys thrive and multiply.

Crocuses

Nikki Dee was permitted to pick one. Okay, two!

Without much to show this time around, here’s a few from the misty vaults.

Easter Crocus

A real closeup ... er ... macro

Last Wonders ...

from a few years ago

crocus2

even older

Filtered Crocuses

Finally: an arty attempt from days of yore.

From Dear, Sweet Wiki

Crocus (plural: crocuses, croci) is a genus in the iris family comprising about 80 species of perennials growing from corms . Many are cultivated for their flowers in autumn, winter, or spring. Crocuses are native to woodland, scrub and meadows from sea level to alpine tundra in central and southern Europe, North Africa and the Middle East, on the islands of the Aegean, and across Central Asia to western China. 

There are about eighty species of crocus (of which approximately 30 are cultivated). Their cup-shaped, solitary, salverform flowers taper off into a narrow tube. Their color varies enormously, although lilac, mauve, yellow and white are predominant. The grass-like, ensiform leaf[3] shows generally a white central stripe along the leaf axis. The leaf margin is entire. Crocuses typically have three stamens. The spice saffron is obtained from the stigmas of Crocus sativus, an autumn/fall-blooming species.

This entry was posted in Family and Photos and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to A Nod to the Crocuses

  1. OMWord Ac!!!! These are Beautiful! I’m in Serious Love with the yellow macroed photo!!! Looks like tine crystals on the edged of the pedals!!
    Nice!!!
    hughugs

  2. Mary G says:

    Very interesting art shot, the last one. Must figure out how you did that. My croci are just starting.
    Have you blown away yet? We have a hot howling gale out here – the snowbanks are disappearing as I watch.

  3. Bernie says:

    These are so pretty….she says longingly. cloudy today but warmer….:-)Hugs

  4. And to think that we have not one of these beauties on our yard and never have had them. AC, thanks for showing us the beauty we missed.

  5. Ginnie says:

    Ah, the Easter colors. They are gorgeous … even if it’s just for a short time.

  6. Lorna says:

    Man, you’re obsessed. You should get a hobby or a part-time job. Maybe a kiddy caregiver.

  7. Hilary says:

    Yours multiply while each years I seem to have fewer and fewer. There was a solitary white crocus this year. Your marco shots are wonderful. That orange stamen looks like petals of a different flower.

  8. Ruth says:

    I saw a front yard here covered in crocus flowers and wondered how yours were coming along. They do not last long but they do say “Spring”!

  9. garnetrose26 says:

    I love those little flowers and love seeing them pop up in the spring. Great pics.

  10. Diana says:

    I just love the Crocuses AC and I still can’t figure out why I haven’t purchased any after all of these years. I think that once they bloom in springtime I quickly forget about them. But one of these day I will plant some and more Hyacinths, I love those too.
    Love Di ♥

Leave a Reply

