The Best Laid Plans

Odd times is the name of the game these days. Last weekend we were supposed to visit inlaws who live several hours east of us. We hadn’t seen them for more than six months, so it was time. But a cootie attack intervened. It turned out that only poor Nikki Dee was infested, but we weren’t able to determine that until the weekend was pretty well over.

So we made new arrangements to take the trip this coming weekend. Well, wouldn’t you know that both Cuppa and I have come down with significant sore throats and colds. We’re struggling to keep our childcare commitments, but I think if we can make it til the weekend, we’ll be pretty drained, so I think we’ll remain close to home. Besides, we don’t want to transport our colds to unsuspecting family members.

Fortunately, there are a few little events occurring locally on the weekend, so if we’re up to attending, which is a pretty big if, there will be some consolation.

This entry was posted in Newsiness. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to The Best Laid Plans

  1. QMM says:

    Oh my no, I thought you meant the kind of cooties one gets in their hair. Would have been easier to get rid of. LOL. Get well soon.
    QMM

  2. Diana says:

    Oh I remember when my two oldest had the lice. About 29 years ago. I didn’t have a clue what they were and when I found out I just freaked out, I had them too and it took forever for me to get rid of them. I was a young mother (25) and just didn’t have a clue.
    After that when I had Kate 16 years ago, I knew what to look for and checked her often!
    Lesson learned!
    I’m so sorry that you two aren’t feeling well but I think a good rest would do both of you some good! Take care of yourselves! Love Di ♥

  3. Hilary says:

    Poor you. I hope you folks are feeling tip-top soon.

  4. Ginnie says:

    I always hate it to get sick just when the season seems to be getting nicer, which I’m pretty sure it is in your area now. Darn. Lots of green tea and give in to rest and hope you’ll be “tip-top” real soon.

  5. Dimple says:

    Sorry you’re ill, I hope you mend quickly!

  6. Mary says:

    Oh, no. That’s too bad. Hope you and Cuppa feel better soon!

    Sending love your way.

  7. Bernie says:

    I think all families go through the “cooties”, seems inevitable. Hope you and cuppa feel better soon AC, one can have a mini vacation right at home, I know, I’ve done it.
    ……:-)Hugs

  8. Ruth says:

    Somehow we managed to miss all the lice infestations while our girls were at school. (for which I am very thankful!) Half our therapy staff was off yesterday with late season colds…hope you are all better soon.

  9. Mara says:

    Cooties and yuckies? Wow, I wish you and yours a speedy recovery!

    (By the way, you are not the only one with twisted socks. However mine will only be on one foot, the other is always fine. Socks are weird things)

  10. Not much fun there, AC with cooties and yuckies, hopefully both will be gone by the weekend, although that is still a few days away.

Leave a Reply

