Breaking Up

A long time ago, Neil Sedaka sang Breaking Up Is Hard To Do. I was sure that it was a very favourite song from my elementary school graduation dance back in 1960. But I guess I was wrong (there’s a first time for everything) because Wiki informs me that it reached #1 in 1962.

It would have been a fine segway into this post’s attempts to show that breaking up is easier than I had thought — so fine that I am using it anyway. 🙂

Over the past few summers, I have been collecting rocks from local building sites to use as a border for our garden. We need something to raise the flowers beds so the plants can have something approaching enough soil to grow in. I use a rock border to retain the soil that I add to make the flowers beds.

These rocks are eons old, probably well over a hundred million judging by the ago of the local bedrock. At some point they were separated from the layers of bedrock, most likely moved by glaciers and deposited in a jumble. Thousands of years later, bulldozers excavated them to build foundations for a subdivision and a guy named AC picked them up.

Just in one or two years, depending on which rocks we are talking about, I am amazed by the amount of weathering that is occurring as all sorts of them are cracking and breaking.

garden+rocks-may12_0001

The top of this rock has completely separated. We have at least two more such occurrences in other specimens.

garden+rocks-may12_0005

On the other side of the garden is another rock, actually two, where the same thing has occurred.

garden+rocks-may12_0006

This one is cracking in every direction.

Maybe Neil was wrong; maybe breaking up is not so hard to do.

So how about we check out a tune that really was a mainstay of that graduation dance? Ta da! I present the Everly Brothers, All I have To Do Is Dream. The clip will reveal that back around 1960, performances weren’t exactly Gaga-esque; it seems to belong to another century. Blimey! I guess it does.

Oh what the heck, here’s Neil and Breaking Up! Just several years later, it’s a few performance notches up from Dream. Maybe I should also post Dylan’s The Times They Are A-Changin’ from 1964 … but I won’t.

This entry was posted in Heritage and History, Lightheartedness, Thoughtfulness and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Breaking Up

  1. Mara says:

    Glue! That might help, although I would prefer the natural state of them breaking down.

  2. Mary G says:

    Oh Dear Me, the hair! I have a disk of the Everly Brothers – I, too, grew up with them and love the music. Cathy’s Clown, for instance, is part of my high school daze. We have Sirius in the car and both JG and I listen to the station that runs ’50s music and trade horrible adolescent memories. Mockingbird Hill? Bubbles, Bangles and Bright Shiny Beads? Motown, in all its glory? Yeah.
    Re the rocks. Not much you can do. The boulders left as stand-alones by the glaciers (forget the right terminology) don’t spall, but they aren’t usually the right shape for rock borders. I have some that I have found that work, though. You might try quarry sites, where this sort of rock tends to be piled in a corner and left.

  3. Bernie says:

    They don’t look too bad AC, but if you are not happy with the look and don’t mind the big job of moving them then why not. Love the music, I think we are the same age. I too listen to Sirius radio daily and enjoy my own age music, I don’t care much for Lady Ga ga….have a great weekend, hello to Cuppa……:-) Hugs

  4. Ginnie says:

    Hi AC…do you remember when I wrote a blog about the parody that Neil Sadaka wrote about “Breaking Up is Hard to Do”? It’s part of an album that he produced for his grandchildren and I love his version… titled “Waking Up is Hard to Do”. I’ll bet your little ones would love it.
    As to the rocks … if they break apart that easily it makes me wonder how they were used at the building sites. I’ll bet some homeowners may have some problems !

  5. Grenville T Boyd says:

    When Geology comes up it just beats the shist out of me!!!!! Sorry a bad geology joke. Seems like thy may have been under pressure till the glacier moved them up and now they are cracking. Before discovering rock n roll i was throughly dipped in the 40’s big band sounds by my mother. We still listen to Sirius 40’s on 4 on Fridays. Other times we go to the “Sinatra” channel. Love that voice, plus a ‘nice Jersey gumba’.

  6. What a blast – no pun intended cause the rocks would surely be broken more — to see these videos. I was never an EB fan, but they did have a nice singing style. Now, NS was a favorite and what about those dance moves!

  7. Those stones look like my mailbox! They do crack up easily!
    And, my favorite will Always be, The 12th of Never…Johnny Mathis…
    hughugs

  8. Lorna says:

    I was shocked to have missed everything you’ve written since Mother’s Day, and yet I have a feeling that we’ve been talking lately. It must be you commenting on my blatherings. And me blathering back. The explanation of which is why I can no longer remember what your posts are about, and what I was going to say about them.

  9. Hilary says:

    One of the first 45s I ever owned was All I Have To Do Is Dream but it wasn’t by the Everly Brothers, but a cover by Richard Chamberlain of Dr. Kildare fame.

Leave a Reply

