A Nice Place, but …

Cuppa and AC headed away for the weekend to visit old friends and old places. To make life interesting we stayed in a Seniors Residence.

Thesha works for a residence here in Ottawa and has some contacts with another of the company’s buildings in Burlington, which is a little west of Toronto on Lake Ontario for those who don’t know the area.

Lakeshore Place

A view of the lake from the back of the property

It was a lovely building in a lovely setting with a lovely staff.

They treated us well: free accommodations for three nights along with free meals if we wished. We did opt to have breakfast there and one supper. Who could ask for anything more?

Lakeshore Place

Our free room. Not bad, eh?

Not us.

Lakeshore Place

The dining room overlooking the lake.

Except for the fact that as lovely as it was, neither Cuppa nor I ever want to take up permanent resident in such a place. I said that I would prefer to be propped up in Thesha’s basement.

Lakeshore Place

Common room.

I did notice something interesting at breakfast one morning. As I glanced about, I saw three gentlemen sitting by themselves before spying three others sitting with groups. No ladies sat by themselves. That says something about the two sexes. I’m just not sure what. πŸ™‚

Lakeshore Place

Another common room and its budgie residents.

As they say, it’s a nice place, but I wouldn’t want to live there.

This entry was posted in Holidays and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to A Nice Place, but …

  1. Hilary says:

    Glad you had a nice time. It sure was a lovely weekend for travel. And you practically went right past my door.. ish. πŸ™‚

  2. Bernie says:

    AC it looks to be a lovely place but like you I sure don’t want to end up in one. Who knows……I’m glad I don’t know what is ahead……:-)Hugs

  3. Ruth says:

    We have had many patients who have thrived in these facilities after doing poorly in an apartment by themselves. Regular meals, socialization and medication supervision are bonuses as elderly singles may not get these things. Usually the men are outnumbered about 4-1 and thrive on female attention. I wonder what is the problem with the men you saw on their own…maybe they are leaving room for a lady at their table. πŸ™‚
    This one is likely quite pricey to live in but the grounds are nice.

  4. Freya says:

    The picture with a lake in the background reminds me of a lake in Winter Gardens, Florida that I saw last December on a visit to my boyfriends’ brother’s hotel. Really gorgeous view!

Leave a Reply

