Nattering

Perhaps it’s time for me to check in sans photos and just natter for a bit. I’m not quite sure what I’ll natter about, but I’m willing to give it a try.

Would you believe that it’s not yet 9AM, and Ive been for a bicycle ride already: my first of the season? A few years back, Cuppa and I cycled quite a lot, but changing times and bodies have kiboshed that. While it’s all but certain that Father Nature (ahem) will prevent me from getting back into cycling in a big way, perhaps I can manage a half hour or so a few times a week since I can’t walk …

That’s a bit of an exaggeration because I am ambulatory, but actually walking, as in going for a walk as opposed to sauntering around the grocery store, has become problematic. Every step bothers the ankle that I sprained badly 25 years ago. It was fine for decades but has come back to bite me for the past year and a half. I currently patiently await a call from the hospital to begin physiotherapy, but hospital physio lists are long and hard to get onto. I would likely pay for private therapy if I were convinced that it would work and wouldn’t require several thousand dollars outlay to find out one way or t’other.

In other humdrumingly banal news, I had too much sugar last night. It was Theboy’s birthday party, and the Cadbury cake was scrump, so I indulged. However, too much sugar in the evening causes my body to overheat. That’s irksome enough in its own right, but somehow it highlights the cold sensation in my legs. Can you begin to guess how uncomfortable and annoying it is to be furnace-like hot and ice-pack-like cold at the same time? It’s enough to cause one to blog badly.

“So, what’s this cold leg stuff all about?” blogdom asks (in my vivid imagination). As far as I understand it, it’s how my sympathetic nervous system, which I find decidedly unsympathetic, chooses to react to spinal deterioration. Yes Victoria, my body is a weird and baffling entity. I have the same cold sensation mildly in my shoulder but physio helped that; it didn’t help the sensations in my legs, however.

I didn’t know quite where I was heading with this post, and since it has turned into something that should only be of interest to my doctor (but isn’t — sadly), I must desist.

It was a nice ride this morning, however.

This entry was posted in Lightheartedness and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Nattering

  1. Humm…Can you wrap that ankle or use a brace (clothe type) for walking?
    What a Bummer!! Does the ankle hurt when peddling the bike?
    I’m so nosey….;o)
    hughugs

  2. Ginnie says:

    I wondered the same thing as Donna. Doesn’t it bother your ankle to peddle? I could relate to so much of your entry that it hurt to read it !!

  3. QMM says:

    I sure am glad I now know what nattering means.
    QMM

  4. KGmom says:

    Sugar makes you overheat? Is that a common reaction? For other people, I mean.

  5. Lorna says:

    Natter on, I say. and I think humdrumming has 2 m’s.

  6. Mary says:

    AC, glad you got out for a bike ride. I certainly understand about the ankle. I hurt mine in 1984 and every once in a while it gives me problems. Hope some therapy will help and that your name tops the list soon.

    I wish I could still bike. I love it but with the arthritic knees, biking and walking very far are pretty much out of the question, which means lack of exercise and a tough time losing the weight that needs to come off.

    Hope your weather is a little less crazy than ours. We had thunderstorms all night last night and today was hot and humid. I prefer cooler weather with no humidity but we don’t always get what we prefer.

    Take care of yourself. Glad to be communicating with you once again. How is Ms. Cuppa doing?

    Blessings,
    Mary

  7. These days I am doing most of my cycling at the “Y” as the outdoor weather is getting beastly hot and humid. I have recurring foot problems, but on the soles of my feet from plantar fasciitis…comes and goes with irregularity, but I can amble around OK for the msot part. Growing older is not fun in some respects!

  8. Ruth says:

    Private physio shouldn’t cost you thousands of dollars. Perhaps one assessment and some recommendations would be adequate. You would pay the $$ to fix your car- why not for yourself??

Leave a Reply

