Speaking of Haircuts

Posting about Zach’s shearing caused me to think back to a period when I indulged in very regular haircuts. In 1966-67, I worked for a year between high school and university. In that year, I developed that habit of visiting Tony the Barber every second week — probably when I received my biweekly paycheck.

If memory serves, it cost me two bucks (or close enough) per clipping. I got out of that biweekly habit once I went to university and into teaching, but I still went in for regular trims because that’s what well-brought-up boys did. For awhile, as  a young teacher, I tried to join the trend to longer hair in homage to the hippy/Beatles era. Alas, it didn’t work for me. I discovered that my hair wasn’t meant to be long when nothing I could do would prevent it from going into a girlish flip. Later, when it began to go the way of the dinosaurs, I discovered that my hair simply wasn’t meant to be —at all. Full stop.

When I checked my photo album for an image from those hideously happy haircutting days, this was the closest picture I could find to that time of my life, although I was likely a year or two younger in the photo. I know there are other pictures from then to be found here and there, but, since this one was at hand, I decided that it would suffice for now.

I Wasn't Always Old Fat and Bald

AC: circa 1965. In Flickr, where I store these blog pics, I titled it I Wasn't Always Old Fat and Bald.

When I stopped visiting the barber, about eight year ago, it was costing a durn sight more than two bucks, let me tell ya; I think it was setting me back ~$15 per visit. I don’t know what they charge now. Whatever the price may be, it’s too much for a bald man, and they don’t give discounts to the almost-hairless!! I can never quite understand why bald me and the hairy dude (or duchess) in the next chair are required to submit the same amount of coin for our snippings. I mean to say, folks pay less for a small coffee than a large and so on and so forth.

Nowadays, Cuppa cuts my locks strands, about once a month or so. It works for me — at least as much as anything at all can be said to work when it comes to my hairs (note intended use of the plural ;)).

This entry was posted in Family and Photos, Heritage and History, Lightheartedness, Thoughtfulness and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Speaking of Haircuts

  1. Hilary says:

    Your stylish flip might have evolved into your grandson’s adorable cowlicks. Genetics can be funny that way. Nice photos of the both of you.. in your respective posts.

  2. Donna (Texas) says:

    Can’t imagine where Grandson got His curls?!!Lolol….
    I use to cut my hubby’s hair until he quit leaving my tips!
    Cuppa’s a Good woman!
    Hughugs

  3. Lorna says:

    In that photo, I can see the you of today—it’s about the eyes and the jaw, not the hair. I’ve been cutting Dave’s hair for as long as we’ve known each other and I have to admit it’s getting easier. Maybe I shouldn’t charge him so much.

  4. Ginnie says:

    Men and hair … my husband always kept his in a type of short crew cut and could never imagine why our sons opted for the long tresses. Now they (the sons) are approaching the “baldish” time and it’s fun to see how they are accepting this. You seem to be handling it well.

  5. Philip says:

    Baldness does not seem to run in my family. Thank God for my mother’s hair genes.
    Everytime I see Prince William I feel, Oh dear, he is going to be bald by the time he is King.

    I guess I like hair. I have had a full beard since 1967. My son has never seen me sans beard.

    I was tempted to shave my head once. I was have a haircut by a lovely 21 year old, ” Barberette” (there were actually three (triplets)) I think I was having my hair cut by the one I fancied. As she ran her hands through my hair and gave my head a good feel, she said, “You have a lovely shaped head and would look good bald.” I was already purring and wanting her to continue when I came to my senses, and said ,”Perhaps someday”. We had been discussing hair and I was asking her about shaving my beard off. She told me she was in the last class at barber college that they taught shaving. It turned out she had shaved many balloons and her father. I was not willing to be her first paid customer in spite of my infatuation with her. My beard survives.

  6. Kila says:

    Us girls love those “girlish flips” on men.

    I give haircuts to the man of the house here. When I go in for my haircuts, it’s $35 plus tip, yikes.

  7. Pearl says:

    I boycotted haircutters for a while because of the smell of the salon. And the bother. I think the cheapest haircut (which is what I always go for) is up to about $20 now but then you’re set with your own in-house expertise.

Leave a Reply

