Garden Mysteries

As the perennials have come up — or not, as the case may be — this year, we have been witnessing a number of oddities. In our previous location, I had a fairly extensive perennial garden but never noticed the kinds of things that I have been seeing this year. Back there, it seemed that all of my plants came up each year and that significant variations in size weren’t the norm. But this is a different environment with very little soil, so weirdness ensues.

plant mysteries

Above: three salvia plants with of three different sizes, one being quite stunted.

Below: three shasta daisies, again one being quite retarded in its development.

plant mysteries

plant mysteries

Above: three echinacea plants in their third year. I don’t remember the middle one being so much smaller than the other two last year. Note: the seedy forget-me-nots have since been cleared away, and that spot now looks a whole lot better.

Below: a great gap in the side garden where three shastas and two mums did not re-appear at all (between the red lines). I understand that shastsas and mums are quite related, but this would have been the third year for the shastas, and they were fine last year. I have begun to fill in the space with rudbeckia but must determine how to deal with the rest of the gap. Perhaps, I will simply plant a few annuals to get us through this year.

plant mysteries

plant mysteries

Above: in the backyard, are two joe pyes. They were both planted last year, and they are different cultivars, but the lighter green one to the front did seem to outdo the other last year. This year, we witness quite a role reversal: to the point where I begin to wonder about the health of the one.

Below: this is not a mystery, just a view of our silk lilac tree from my den window. It’s got quite a crown of blossoms right now. Nice.

plant mysteries

This entry was posted in Newsiness and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Garden Mysteries

  1. Bernie says:

    I am ashamed of my back garden this year, what a mess. They are putting new fences around the condos so I didn’t do nearly as much, the deck needs repair and painting as well. My poor dad would have a fit if he saw it. Oh well hopefully when the fence is finished and the deck repaired it will look better and I will plant more next year. Yours doesn’t look so bad compared to mine I’ll tell you. Have a Happy Father’s Day……:-)Hugs

  2. I would LOVE to have that Silk Lilac!!! Beautiful!
    I’m with Bernie….My yard is pitiful! The heat is killing tons of stuff here. We water Constantly. 105degrees yesterday with a heat index of 112…..the ground just sucks up the water!
    Stay cool up there!
    hughugs

  3. Mara says:

    The only thing that really seems to thrive in my garden are weeds. Oh, and my redcurrant bush. The Christmas tree I planted the year before last did fine last year and this year has decided my garden isn’t good enough! I would let the whole thing go wild, if only the council would let me…

  4. Ginnie says:

    How strange. Have other people near you had the same results … or I should say, lack of results? The silk lilac tree is lovely though and makes up for the other. I’ve never heard of that sort of tree and wonder if we have them in my area. I’m going to check on it.

  5. Lorna says:

    I am in awe of anyone who can get three plants where three plants grew last year, never mind that they took on their own personalities.

  6. KGmom says:

    How much soil boosting did you do? If it’s poor soil, it may need lots of (ahem) manure.
    I assume that you have matched up which plants for which compass exposure, etc.

  7. Kila says:

    Flowers of a bit of a mystery to me. Odd that some did not reappear. It was a cold spring there, though. The lilac tree looks lovely.

    P.S. Are Canadians celebrating Father’s Day today also? If so, Happy Father’s Day to you! Wish more girls had dads/grandpas like you!

  8. Mary G says:

    Grubs? Too much rain? You didn’t talk to them enough? I have had a huge lilac crop, but my lilies are going to be spotty. What suits one type of plant discourages others, I think.
    When I was a kid, our neigbours used to put sheep manure on all their flower beds and on the grass. Ew. I go with liquid fertilizer that is quite odourless.
    Hey, the garden looks good, in spite of sulky echinea et al. And your silk lilac is perfection.

  9. Diana says:

    It seems that we think a lot alike AC. We have several of the same perennials and I use lots of rocks and mulch!! Looking good my friend, looking good!!
    Love Di ♥

  10. It’s always a surprise when we see just what is coming up in the gardens, especially the wildflower gardens because we just threw in boxes of seeds and are letting them reseed themselves from here on.

Leave a Reply

