A Celtfest Memory

Celtfest is coming up this weekend and will become a full-fledged, two-day event for the first time. In anticipation of the event, here is a clip a last years headline group, The Glengarry Bhoys. The fiddler was quite something, and he got wilder than what you see in this clip — such as jumping of the platform onto a six-foot-high speaker. He didn’t appear to miss a note during his jump up or jump down.

It’s also neat to see the kidlets dancing in front of the stage.

I love this local event that honours traditional music but still allows for change and progress in how it is expressed.

This entry was posted in Music and Fiddling and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to A Celtfest Memory

  1. Dimple says:

    Reminded me of “The Devil Went Down to Georgia.” Good music!

    Thanks for the link to your photos. I like them a lot! The Showy Lady Slipper is beautiful, and I also enjoyed your portraits of musicians.

  2. Lorna says:

    I’d love to go to Almonte this weekend, but I’m making dinner Saturday night, and that always just ruins the weekend for me. Too tense to jig.

  3. Ginnie says:

    Altho I have DSL I still can’t get the videos … or, I should say I can get them if I’m willing to take 1/2 hour for them to come up ! But I did want to wish you a happy belated 4th !!

  4. Bernie says:

    Fiddler is great……enjoy the show! Hope you have good weather for it….:-)Hugs

Leave a Reply

