Off to Pre-JK

We’ve been transitioning through a major event this week, for Niks has been off to pre-JK — aka warmup week for Junior Kindergarten, which she will begin this fall.

I dunno, but I had thought of SK as a preliminary to grade school. And then I considered JK to be kind of a get-ready-for-SK situation. Apparently, this is not enough, so the kiddies now are offered a one-week warmup for JK. Personally, I think that they really need a two-day preliminary to the one-week warmup, but that’s just me.

Okay, I’m being a little silly, but I somehow vaguely recall showing up to kindergarten, elementary school, high school and the university without all of this coddling, and I survived. Really though, all of these things are good, but this kid is so ready to embrace new challenges that she hardly requires the extra familiarization. However, it may be good for the other kiddies to be exposed to Niks for a short while. They now have six weeks to decompress and make themselves ready for a sustained onslaught come September.

Here are some Off to Pre-JK pics for yall. I know that it’s highly unusual for me to post photos, but I thought I should make the supreme effort just this once. 😉

Off to Pre JK

We actually started from our house because their AC was on the fritz, so it was decided that Niks and Zacks would spend their non-school time at our place on Monday. Here we are about to get into the car. Poor Zacks was not invited. This grieves him so.

 

Off to Pre JK

Looking mighty pleased with herself as she heads off on her adventure

 

Off to Pre JK

Waving goodbye sans tears

 

Off to Pre JK

When I pick her up, the kids are all playing outside as the wrap up to their morning activities. Without exaggerating, Niks must expend twice as much energy as any other kids as she climbs higher and scurries from one activity to another.

 

Off to Pre JK

She loves to climb

 

Off to Pre JK

She was hollering at the top of her lungs, so Buppa advised her to tone it down a tad.

 

Off to Pre JK

She is so red-faced by the time she gets home that early on I despaired and made it a point to talk to the teachers, asking them to keep an eye on her. She is so red and sweaty in this photo that I'm truly not sure if I would be able to recognize her. Her eye is also slightly swollen from insect bites.

 

This entry was posted in Grandchildren and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Off to Pre-JK

  1. QMM says:

    She is so precious. I agree she is hardly recognizable in that last picture. What adventures lie ahead. For her and you and Cuppa.
    QMM

  2. Hilary says:

    I tend to think that this pre-JK week is more about enlightening teachers than acclimating the kids. You’d be onto something big if you could harness that child’s energy.

  3. AWWWWW!! I remember WELL the tears when Sami left for school….Poor Zach!
    SO glad though Nikki had so much fun!
    100??? Isn’t that a bit of the unusual for your area? Wow…no wonder her eye is a bit swollen…maybe not insect bite….Too much Sun can do it to…
    Great memories Ac!
    hughugs

  4. Lorna says:

    it’s not really pre-JK; it’s anti-terror technique. I never suffered it myself but definitely saw it in my brothers and kids. Anyway, I like the over-the-top sarcasm—it mitigates the amazing, almost painful, cuteness.

  5. Ginnie says:

    She’ll be running that class just the way she wants it by the 3rd day there I’ll bet !
    Great pictures.

  6. Kila says:

    How exciting for her!

    My boys went to preschool two mornings a week at age 3, then 3 or 4 mornings a week at age 4. I don’t know that they learned much new academically that I hadn’t already taught them, but socially it was wonderful for them.

  7. Dimple says:

    I love the shot of Nikki in her car seat; she is obviously ready for anything!

    Your comment on “Afternoon Commute” was a hoot! A little man…love it!

  8. Diana says:

    First you had me laughing and then nearly crying as your photos brought back memories of my Katie. It seemed like only yesterday when she was off to Pre-School and here she is entering her third year of high school!!
    But you know already how fast that time goes by. And me thinks that is why you are so enjoying this time now! Love Di ♥

  9. Bernie says:

    She’s a big girl now….so cute and she seems to do everything with so much energy. I think this is more social time than anything elseAC, she is more than ready for JK and something tells me she already has many social skills. Enjoy!…….:-)

  10. Mara says:

    In that last photo she looks as if she would sleep very soundly that night. Very exciting to start something new again!

Leave a Reply

