Five Filtered Fotos

I am a Photoshop® guy; most of the photos that I post here have been through some adjustments, however minor, in that program. However, I have so far avoided the many commercial add-on filters that one can purchase for Photoshop. Recently, however, I have seen various comments and photos using Topaz® Adjust, so I decided to give it a free, 30-day trial. Based on early result, I think this program will be a keeper.

Topaz Adjust comes with many presets, and I’ll cite which I use for each photo below, but in most if not all cases I then adjusted the preset to suit my own … ahem … artistic taste.

Following are five photos that I played with yesterday; other versions of the first three have been previously presented on this blog, but I am not going to do a before/after viewing today.

Playing with Filters

You may recall these old maple syrup buckets at Wheelers. This is how they look using the Spicify preset.

 

Playing with Filters

Psychedelic preset: much lighter and grainier than the original.

 

Playing with Filters

My BIL after running the Sketch preset. This rendering might not be to everyone's taste. 🙂

 

Playing with Filters

Taken last evening: our Mississippi River near dusk. I had been hoping for the "golden light" which is the hour before sunset, but it was a cloudy evening. As we were walking back to the car, however, I saw a little sunlight catching the longer strip of grass by the riverbank. I used the Spicify preset to give the image more drama and pop. In that case, I probably should have "lightened" it a tad.

 

Playing with Filters

This one of Cuppa contemplating the river uses the HDR preset in highly modified form. I lean toward moderate usage of the HDR effect -- moderate compared to some anyway. (Note to newer viewers: this is what I call the Unmighty Mississippi in Lanark County, Ontario -- not the famous American river.)

 

There are various opinions about using software to adjust photos. Some believe that you should be true to what comes out of the camera. My problem with that school of thought is that the camera doesn’t necessarily see the scene the way that the photographer sees it because cameras don’t work the same way that eyes do. Also, almost from the getgo, even back in the early days, the darkroom has been very important in the photographic process. Darkroom techniques can bring you closer to what you saw when you took the photo or in many cases closer to what you wish you would have seen.

Cropping is a good example of how one can enhance the content of the photo that the camera produces. Amateur photographers often don’t have the time or the bagfull of lenses required to take the perfectly composed photograph. Above, you can tell by the size of the photo that my BIL has been cropped. In this case, there was nothing wrong with the original composition, but I decided that I liked the tighter cropping when I tried it. If I recall the window had to be straightened slightly but wasn’t cropped as such. The two river picture weren’t cropped or straightened at all, but the light was a little flat, so I decided that it needed a boost.

This entry was posted in Photos and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Five Filtered Fotos

  1. Diana says:

    I like it, especially the one’s from Wheelers. They seemed to have much more detail.
    Love Di ♥

  2. Ginger says:

    Wow, AC. They all look great. Hard to pick a favorite, but for this quiet morning, the one of Cuppa by the Mississippi is just the right mood and composition!

  3. I had a Topaz plugin a while back but never got around to using it. THESE are just Beautiful Ac! The sketch of BIL makes him look like a fisherman to me! Love the look!
    hughugs

  4. Mara says:

    I tend to opt for the natural look. However, that has more to do with the fact I don’t know how to use any photoshop thingy than anything else. I did like one of your photos a while back, where you kept only some of the colour in it. I think it was one of your granddaughter in a red, white and blue dress.

  5. garnetrose26 says:

    These are great. Your bil reminds me of the Gorton’s fisherman. *s*

  6. Mary says:

    AC, wonderful photos. I like the one of your BIL, but my absolute favorite is the one of Cuppa by the river. Great job. I wish I was a little more Photo Shop literate. Maybe I should take a course on how to use it.

    Thanks so much for dropping by and commenting on my robin post. Always nice to talk to you.

    Blessings,
    Mary

  7. Mary G says:

    Love the second one – the window. I use Corel PhotoPaint, but don’t use the presets most. I do use auto-equalize. A lot. I think it is much the same as HDR. I use it in increments. I could do the same thing with changing the ISO on the camera, but since I forget to change it back, I don’t do that unless I have a lot of time.
    And the Cuppa shot is neat – pink sunset effect.

  8. Dimple says:

    I like each of these, but especially the one of your BIL. Second favorite is Cuppa enjoying the river.

    Is the temperature window in your house? It’s quite something!

  9. Hilary says:

    Fun stuff. I have no problem with anyone doing whatever they desire to their photos. Photography is an art and it doesn’t have to end with the sound of the shutter. These are fine photo enhancements.

  10. Ruth says:

    I like every one of these pictures. Personally, I like HDR as long as there is not a halo effect. I really like the sky in the last picture and the sketch version of your b-i-l is also very interesting.

Leave a Reply

