A Photography Hint

When I talk about photography, please don’t take me to be claiming to know much about it or to be any good at it. That being acknowledged, there is one rule that I hear repeated, and when I think to apply it, I like the result better. It goes something like this: “Get closer, and then get closer.”

That being said, to illustrate the point at least a little bit, permit me to trot out some daylily pictures … just one last time … promise.

Here are three pairs of flower photos with the bottom one being more zoomed in than the top one in each case. These are all original photos, with no post-processing cropping and  no post-processing of any kind (I think).

In each case, the closer shot looks better to me, and I think the difference stands out most starkly in the third set where I got closest to the subject.

While you are looking also consider that most of the photos are at least somewhat off-centre. This is generally more esthetically pleasing that always having your subject placed smack-dab in the middle — which, unfortunately, is what I did in the top photo of the third pairing. This made it the most blah photo of the lot in my opinion.

Getting Closer

Getting Closer

Getting Closer

As I’ve previously declared in another recent post, we amateurs often don’t have a lot of time to compose and take a shot. Even if we do, we don’t always have the option of moving closer to our subjects. So … there’s nothing wrong with using your software to crop once you upload a photo to your computer.

Try it; you’ll like it.

This entry was posted in Photos and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to A Photography Hint

  1. QMM says:

    Well prof that was a good lesson. I have not learned to set my camera right because the closer I get the more blurry my photo is. I need to sit down and study because I agree it does look better. Thanks for the lesson.
    QMM

  2. Very good advice, AC, and the same thing I always advise folks (especially) relatives who ask how i get such “good” pics. I tell them get the head shots and move in. Your advice about cropping is very well taken and something i do as well, but unfortunately many folks don;t have or know how to do this on their PCs, so getting closer when taking the photos would be the best for them. Thanks too for the previous posts about the photoshop comparisons – enjoyed reading the explanations and seeing the results.

  3. Tom says:

    AC,
    you have some great “close-up” shots there, buddy! Flowers are fun to zap with a camera! Good day to you, kind Sir! 🙂

  4. Lorna says:

    I’m taking your sage wisdom to heart. Do I actually have to pick up a camera though?

  5. Dimple says:

    Yes, the closer the better!

Leave a Reply

