Gazing upon Stargazers

It’s true! The flower pictures never stop. Oh, I guess they will soon enough, but I admit to being on a bit of a kick lately. 🙂

I will, however, stick to my promise of being done with daylily photos … and show you our lilies (as in lilium rather than hemerocallis) instead.

Actually, we only have one kind of true lily (or lilium) — the stargazer — although we do have three separate plants. It’s a gorgeous flower, and each bloom lasts for quite awhile, not just for a day. Consequently, we can (and do) have a plethora of blooms for the weeks when the plant is in season. The scent is intoxicating as well, even after being cut and brought indoors.

Stargazing

 

Stargazing

The main problem with these plants is the Asiatic Red Beetle, which loves to devour these lilies. So, we do have to dust a few times a year. It seems worth it, however.

This entry was posted in Photos and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Gazing upon Stargazers

  1. garnetrose26 says:

    You can never have too many pictures of flowers for me. I love them and these ones are gorgeous.

  2. Mara says:

    Love those flowers, but I am already looking at my clothes to see if they stained! And I am on the other side of a computer screen!!!

  3. Diana says:

    I couldn’t get tired of looking at those AC. Maybe I will get some next year (Stargazers). I have two or three different ones I buy from Lowes after they have bloomed. They only cost about .50 then. I have to wait for the blooms until the next year but can’t complain!
    Love Di ♥

  4. Don’t you DARE quit with the flower shots young man!!!
    These are Beautiful!
    hughugs

  5. Hilary says:

    Your flowers in this and previous posts are just lovely. Your fascination with shooting them is much like my own with sunsets at the cottage. Each stage of each one is a beauty and before you know it, you have more than images than you know what to do with. I’ve enjoyed catching up. Despite my minimal comments, I did read each and every post.

  6. Ginnie says:

    What an exquisite color ! I can just imagine your three plants covered with blooms. Lucky you !

  7. QMM says:

    These are beautiful. Keep them coming.
    QMM

  8. Ruth says:

    Yes, these are exactly the same as mine which are decimated from the lily beetle this year. I have had them at least 12 years and this is the first time they have been eaten. Lovely flowers!

Leave a Reply

