A Few More Photo Experiments

Okay guys and gals. Will you permit me one last kick at the can for chronicling some of my photo experiments with Topaz Adjust? Pretty please? A boy has to play after all.

I am going to post three Before-and-After sets. Before would be as I originally posted them to Flickr and to here. I don’t suppose I have to explain After. 🙂 In each case, I could probably produce similar results in Photoshop without using Adjust — but that’s not what I did.

In Lanark

I prefer the After photo ↓ but did mask out the adjustments on the lawn to keep it more like the ↑ original.

Red Shed

In Lanark

Remember ↑ the old gardener of Lanark? Adjust ↓ helped me to both make the photo more detailed and more vivid.

lanark-gardener2

Agastache

Finally, there’s the bee and the Agastache. Once again, I like the ↑ first version fine, but one has to experiment. Similar to the lawn in the red shed photo up above, I liked how Topaz ↓ treated the flowers but not the background.

agastache2

agastache3

So, I masked out the background ↑ to keep what I liked best about both versions (or more or less anyway): the more vivid flowers of the adjusted version with the more subdued background of the original.

Okay. I think I’m done inflicting my experiments upon y’all. How about some grandkid photos tomorrow? Huh?

This entry was posted in Photos and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to A Few More Photo Experiments

  1. Mara says:

    The second ‘Gardener in Lanark’ is my favourite. It gets an almost drawing like quality with whatever you’ve done.

  2. Diana says:

    That is very cool!!
    Love Di ♥

  3. Mary says:

    My fav: the first picture. After the alteration, the roof looks really nice.

    I need to learn some of your tricks.

  4. Turtle Guy says:

    I’m pleased to see you too have toys with which you love to tinker… and techie toys at that!

    I’m also particularly impressed, and always have been, with your eye for detail. Masking bits that you like to see as original certainly demonstrates your ‘particular’ nature. To get revved up about something you love is fulfilling indeed!

  5. Love how you worked with these! Especially the old gardener….Much better!
    And Yes! Kiddo Photos are fun too!!
    hughugs

  6. Hey AC, now what’s the point of having new “tpys” is not to share with all of us. I did like the enhanced contrast that Topaz Adjust brought out in these examples. And yes, more photos of the grands would be just grand!

Leave a Reply

