Notre-Dame Cathedral Basilica

This has been a pretty restful staycation for the Anvilclouds. On Thursday, however, we did venture all of the way into Ottawa — a whole 45-minute drive. 🙂  Since the National Gallery close to both the Byward Market and the Parliament buildings, we parked there before ambling about.

There is a grand Catholic church opposite the Gallery; we have poked our noses in any number of times, but I have never had my camera with me. This time, after some hemming and hawing, I decided to port the beast with me on the warm day. I’m glad I did.

I will likely post some more photos of our big day shortly, but here are three of the church. I was concentrating on holding the camera straight, and I did a better job than usual. The first two have been filtered somewhat, but the third has not been post-processed very much.

Notre-Dame Cathedral Basilica

Mass was about to begin, so I hurriedly snapped three, hand-held photos of the dark interior before beating a hasty retreat. Surprisingly enough, all three turned out; here are two of them.

Notre-Dame Cathedral Basilica

 

Notre-Dame Cathedral Basilica

 

This entry was posted in Near and Far, Photos and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Notre-Dame Cathedral Basilica

  1. Mary says:

    AC, beautiful church. Such architecture is a thing of the past. I am wondering about the history of this building.

    Glad that you and Cuppa got out and about.

    Blessings,
    Mary

  2. Ginger says:

    Wow. Gorgeous! Stunning! There’s nothing like that over here in the wild west…

  3. I’m not a church-y person, but I love the soaring grandeur of the old churches, especially the Catholic ones. The fact that these churches were built without the aid of cranes and the modern machinery and tools we have nowadays simply fascinates me.

  4. QMM says:

    Love your casual way of narrating your fun time. I like to do a little hemming and hawing before I make a decision. Thanks for good wishes on the “Big Fall” which was not so big after all. LOL Sure feeling better.
    QMM

  5. Ginnie says:

    Your second photo certainly shows the insignificance of the humans as compared to the majesty of where they worship.
    I, like Linda, am not a church-goer but I am often in awe as to the architectural aspect. Thanks for the great photos.

  6. Sure don’t build them like this anymore, sadly.

  7. Doris says:

    The second picture in particular is just stunning! I love it!

  8. Diana says:

    Oh my gosh!!! I think my surgeon is from Ottawa!!! That church is freaky beautiful!!
    Love Di ♥

  9. Hilary says:

    Lovely, clear shots of such a beautiful structure.

  10. Bernie says:

    I have attended Mass at this church, way back in 1978. Love it. I think Quebec has the most beautiful churches in Canada but Ontario is a close second…:-)Hugs

  11. Kila says:

    Wow! You took those photos? Spectacular. I could look at them all day.

Leave a Reply

