Whilst I Loitered …

I did take a few photos whilst I loitered outside of storefronts whilst waiting for the gals (see previous post), but I only liked these of the Connaught Building, which I thought was the Royal Mint … but it isn’t.

From Wikipedia

The Connaught Building is a historic office building in Ottawa, Canada, owned by Public Works and Government Services Canada. It is located at 555 MacKenzie Street just south of the American Embassy. To the east the building looks out on the Byward Market and to the west is MacKenzie Avenue and Majors Hill Park.

By the early twentieth century the Parliament Buildings were running out of space to house Canada’s civil service. The Tudor-Gothic structure was … named after the Duke of Connaught, then Governor General … Today it houses the headquarters the Canada Revenue Agency.

The building has been designated a Federal Heritage Building of “Classified” Status, the highest level of recognition, since 1988.

A bit of useless trivia: I once lived on a Connaught Street in the St Laurent part of Montreal.

Following are the photos, the first three from a bench (the lazy photgraphers preferred vantage) outside a ladies clothing shop on Sussex Dr: the last two (which I prefer) from the other side of the building. There was a time when I would take great pains to attempt to correct the perspective and straighten buildings in post-processing, but now you might notice that I am tending to like the various leanings and angles. At least sometimes.

The Connaught Building

The Connaught Building

The Connaught Building

The Connaught Building

The Connaught Building

Believe it or not, I have one more post in this series. Aren’t you glad that it was just a day trip? 🙂


Edit: since writing the post, I came across one more that I’d like to share, also taken form the bench, like the first three.

Connaught Building

This entry was posted in Near and Far and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Whilst I Loitered …

  1. Diana says:

    What a neat building, very Gothic! I would love to wander around inside. After I get my new knees that is! Did you wander inside AC? Or perhaps it’s only open through the work week. Love Di ♥

  2. Mary says:

    So you got a 7D, eh? Did you take these with it? How are you finding it? I wish I cold teach you but I’m still learning!

    Beautiful pictures.

  3. Really like all that stone! It looks like a castle……
    It’a alright to post MORE photos! I’ve yet to see a bad one!
    hughugs

  4. Lorna says:

    Still reeling from the “ladies clothing store” comment, I rise to tell you I like the last photo the best. No idea why, but my heart lifted when I saw it.

  5. Bernie says:

    These are great pictures AC, like Lorna I really like the last one. You are getting really great at taking photos my friend…..:-)Hugs

  6. Mary G says:

    You had a beautiful day for it – the stone seems to glow. Maybe I should encourage my husband to take up photography. The only time I get to browse in shops on holiday is if he picks them.

  7. Kila says:

    Beautiful, thanks for sharing 🙂

Leave a Reply

