Of Envy and Good Telly

Although I don’t think my lot in this world would be envied by countless millions, from my point of view, life has been pretty good to me. I spend little time wishing for what I don’t have or envying those who enjoy greater affluence. Besides, it wouldn’t do any good for me to pine, for as my father used to say, and his father before him, “If wishes were horses, then people would ride.”

However, as I watch Ryan and Tatum O’Neal’s struggles to reconcile huge past differences on OWN, in each episode I see a number of shots of Ryan’s Malibu ocean front beach house. His view is the Pacific Ocean, and his yard is the beach. To top it off, he lives in climatically wonderful California — at least that’s how I think of it.

I school myself not to envy, but I’m pretty darn sure that I would consider it almost heavenly to have the luxury of kicking around those digs for two weeks. Mmmmm.

Ryan O'Neal's House

Ryan O'Neal's House as snatched from the tv.

 

If you haven’t been watching OWN, you might consider giving it a try. While there are a number of good series, I have been quite taken with those that highlight people who are on a quest to overcome inner obstacles or interpersonal conflicts.

We began with The Judds, Winona and Naomi, attempting to connect better and differently, followed by Shania Twain’s journey to recover her voice. Then, we agonized along with the Duchess of York in her attempt at Finding Sarah. Now, we are on tenterhooks each week, watching Ryan and Tatum O’Neal trying to rebuild their shattered relationship after 25 years of estrangement. The first three series were all six episodes/weeks in length, but we’ve just watched episode 7 of the O’Neals, so who knows where it’s heading.

While I am not on the same kind of journey as any of these people, this is television that could inform someone facing their own intra or interpersonal difficulties. If not, it’s pretty darn interesting, and it sure doesn’t hurt anyone to observe the process that others go through in striving to overcome whatever it is that stands in their way of peace and happiness.

 

This entry was posted in Thoughtfulness and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Of Envy and Good Telly

  1. Different strokes I guess…Personally, I’ll stick with a good Public TV Mystery series. I hate when people make money off of others agony…
    hughugs

  2. Bernie says:

    I have watched all of the same series. There are so many lessons we can learn here AC, I love OWN, she does have a special gift reaching out and helping people. So many have benefited from her generosity not only of money but more importantly her wisdom. I also enjoy her Sunday night movies…….:-)Hugs

  3. Mara says:

    I’ve never seen any of the shows you mentioned and doubt whether I would watch them if I could see them on any of the gazillion channels I seem to have.

  4. Lorna says:

    I got lost this week, and now I’m having to read multiple posts by my favourite writers.
    Sod Off was pretty good, but I think I’m going to have nightmares.

  5. Doris says:

    Sounds like quality television compared to most of what is on the air.

  6. AC, we do subscribe to Sirius radio, but don’t have any cable/dish service and as a result TV viewing is quite limited. But, whenever we watch TV in motel rooms when we travel we see WHY we’re going to keep it that way.

Leave a Reply

