Cuppa the Artisan …

… or is it artist?

Last autumn, Cuppa spent a day at a beading workshop. She didn’t follow up on her new found knowledge at the time, but, knowing that she’s a jewellry (oh, how I wish my American spellchecker wouldn’t inform me that the double “ell” is erroneous because it gets me doubting myself every time) kinda gal, I contacted the instructor and asked for a list of items that Cuppa might require to begin to pursue this hobby. As it turns out, there were other gifts on my mind last Christmas, and so I didn’t get around to following through at that time.Ā  But I saved the email and come March and the Cupster’s birthday, I retrieved it and purchased a few rudimentary tools and spools of wire that would help her to begin the hobby ā€” if she so chose.

Which she did. As I said in a previous post, the lady doth tendeth to jump into some pursuits with both feet.

Well, that was then and this is now. I am amazed by what she has done with just one workshop, no other instructional material, a few tools, lots of talent, prodigious willpower, and a creative imagination.

These are some of her creations. Several others have already passed out of our hands by being gifted to sundry souls that have been deemed worthy. Thesha, for example, absconded with a ring once she saw them on the weekend.

It’s enough to make an talentless plod weep … for joy.

Cuppa's Rings

Cuppa's Rings

Cuppa's Necklaces

Cuppa's Necklaces

 

Cuppa's Earrings

Cuppa's Earrings

 

Cuppa's Bookmarks

Cuppa's Bookmarks

 

suncatchers4

Edit: Suncatchers, which I forgot to include earlier.

She keeps telling me that she doesn’t know what she’s doing.

In that case, I say that she fakes it really well.

This entry was posted in Family and Photos. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Cuppa the Artisan …

  1. shammy says:

    OOOO those are very nice indeed!
    I went to a single evening beading session at the local art gallery a couple of years ago and made one 3 strand necklace and a matching bracelet and pair of dangly earrings which I wear quite often and I get lots of complinents on them. And it was so much fun to make.

  2. Christina says:

    Beautiful! Can’t wait for bracelets…I am eagerly awaiting being able to purchase one!

  3. Ginnie says:

    I’d say she fakes it BEAUTIFULLY …

  4. Mary says:

    Lovely pieces of art, I’d say.

  5. Hilary says:

    Very nice, Cuppa! It makes me wish I had my ears pierced. I do like those bookmarks too.

  6. Bernie says:

    Every piece is lovely, what a creative wife you have A/C now when is she planning on selling her work, I love those rings……:-)Hugs

  7. Mara says:

    I love those rings! Very pretty and artsy. Is she going to set up a stall at the weekly market next to try and sell her wares?

  8. Iona says:

    Very nice šŸ™‚ They make nice gifts! Love the bookmarks. Does she sell them?

  9. QMM says:

    You are her best critic. Everything she does will be great. Wonderful. But I do also like her work. HH is just amazed with what I do. I was always busy cooking, playing driver etc. for so many years, I guess he forgot I was a creative person.
    QMM

  10. AC, it seems that Cuppa is already quite accomplished at her craft – lovely pieces here.

  11. Lorna says:

    Oh, just kill me now. I don’t think I’ll ever put a beading tool in my hand again. Or maybe, if you’d tell me what it’s called, I’d use the Making-wire-into-gorgeous-shapes one.

Leave a Reply

