Here’s to You Mrs Robinson

Okay, she wasn’t Mrs Robinson but Miss if I recall correctly, and I wasn’t exactly her Dustin Hoffman. But! She did kiss me!

She was my grade three teacher, and she was helping my with my hair (I think), so it could have even been this day — picture day — when the incident took place. It would make sense.

Anyway, she leaned over and gave me a little buss on the cheek. I feigned indignation when I told my parents. Pretended that I was horrified.

But I was pleased. Still am.

This Was Me in Grade 3, Baby

Can you spot AC? Hint: I'm not wearing a dress.

So … what broughteth this photo and memory out of the apparent blue?

Well, as you know, Nikki Dee started school last week. On the night before day one, the family was kind of thrown into panic mode when Thesha was informed by a friend that the kids could expect no help whatsoever with clothes, shoes, lunches, potty and who knows what else. Yuppers! It’s strictly a hands off policy these days.

It gets ridiculous to the extent where a young guy I know was informed in Teachers College that this is policy. Not only that, but he came across a case where a kid had an accident in the bathroom, and no one would help him. This kind of thing seems to have put him off teaching, and he is now looking elsewhere for employment. Maybe he will reconsider, but in the meantime, the system and the kids have lost a bright, innovative and caring mentor. Pity.

It’s all down to fear, isn’t it? If we don’t touch, we can’t be sued or stand to lose our reputations. I understand the concerns, but sometimes the pendulum swings too far altogether.

It kind of makes me mad and kind of makes me sad.

How does is make you feel?

Anyolehoo, thank you Miss Robinson for that little peck on the cheek. The memory will exist as long as I do, and it will forever warm the cockles of my heart.

And what’s your guess as to which of the little fellas is AC?

This entry was posted in Heritage and History. Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Here’s to You Mrs Robinson

  1. kmr says:

    Back row, second from the right. Your granddaughter looks so much like you!
    kmr

  2. Ginger says:

    I second kmr’s selection.

  3. Mary says:

    The classic class portrait–I loves!

    I’m definitely with you and believe the pendulum on the hands-off policy has truly gone way too far. It’s a real shame as I believe the warm hug can really go a long way. When it comes to helping a child zip a coat or tie a shoe, I simply cannot understand how these gestures are not allowed. It’s not okay. Err.

  4. KFMom says:

    Well, I was going to say–someone in the back row. And I too looked for a face like NikkiDee’s.
    So, I will third the vote.

  5. AC, you are in the top row second in from the right.
    And I agree that the hands off policy seems to be more of a detriment than a help in many ways. And, if some kids grow up uncaring because they never received a warm touch of hug of appreciation than who’s to blame?

  6. Judy says:

    Both your granddaughter and your daughter look so much like you! That’s how I spotted you right away.
    How sad things have gotten. I’ll have to ask my grandson how things are in his kindergarten class.

  7. Ginnie says:

    The others are probably right but I am going to first guy on the left top row.

  8. Ruth says:

    I picked you out right away too. We are not allowed to touch children at church either and I find that difficult. At work I touch my patients all the time as part of therapy and also to encourage them. It is hard to turn that off completely as touch is so important to humans.

  9. lorna says:

    If you’re not top row second from the right, I’ll be disappointed in my sleuthing skills.

    As for the other issue, it always makes me mad when a situation comes up and instead of putting it in context, and helping people make good choices, lazy management makes a blanket “zero-tolerance” type rule. Once I was working where one of my colleagues had no idea of how to dress for work—the boss sent out a memo telling us we all had to wear 3 piece suits. I was the only woman of 13 workers, so it kind of jumped out at me as a bad idea.I kept waiting for him to send another memo saying we all had to wear bras….

  10. Hilary says:

    JK and SK kids still need a lot of help and will always need warmth of a caring touch. When my kidlets were in school, the no hugs (or what was otherwise deemed as unnecessary contact) policy was in place. Most teachers and admin ignored it and followed their fine instincts instead. I suspect/hope that will still be the case.

    You stand right out there where everyone placed you.. second from the right.. back row.

  11. Dimple says:

    Well, now Ill be singing that song all day…

    I didn’t look for Nikki, and I’m probably wrong, but I keep looking at the boy third from the left on the top row. Of course, he wouldn’t have needed help with his hair!

    It’s a shame that fear runs our society today, to the point that teachers aren’t allowed to interact with their students in necessary ways. Bravo to your teacher for loving you as a teacher should!

  12. Kila says:

    Aww, what a sweet memory!

    It’s very unfortunate that it would never happen today, and could lead to lawsuit and loss of employment, etc. When my boys were attending public school a couple of years ago, the teachers were not allowed to touch the children in any way–not even a hug or simple comforting touch when a child was injured or otherwise upset and crying. The kids were told not to touch each other, either. Very, very sad, plus I think this greatly affects their development, not in good ways.

  13. I’m sorry AC but all of those young white boys look alike to me! I couldn’t tell.
    I feel sad about the way things are right now. I couldn’t imagine not being able to help a child in need. It’s just sad. Love Di ♥

  14. Donna (Texas) says:

    I’m in Ruidoso, NM this week and won’t return to central Texas until Friday… I’m playing catch-up on my IPad!

    I am SO Angry that they would not Help that child!!! Where is the Anger?? People Must Lose the fear! Unbelievable!!!
    Fight this!!
    Hughugs

  15. Ms. R says:

    It’s been a while since I have visited your blog but I’m glad I did for this post. Being a grade 3 teacher there is NO WAY I would give a student a peck on the cheek. It’s bad enough that I got a call complaining that I kept a student in for recess last week because he was very disruptive while I was trying to teach. I kept him in to make up the time he wasted – the time he took away from my teaching, and more importantly, the learning that should have been happening by the other students. Apparently I was wrong. I would never want to receive a call about me touching or kissing a student – how terrifying! Complaints about discipline are one thing, being accused of touching a student is something that could ruin not only your career, but your life. That being said, have I hugged a student who needed it? – yes! I have never initiated a hug, but when a primary (grade JK- grade 3) student is upset because his or her parents have split up or he or she has been injured and they ask for a hug, am I really going to turn away? No. Sometimes an arm around the shoulder is all they need to turn their whole day around.

  16. Mary G says:

    Could I tell you a story about the non-touching thing. A master teacher, a wonderful woman, has just been driven out of teaching (applying for Workman’s comp at present) by a nasty twist on the non-toouch policy. Oh for the old days when you could swat the little monsters around, hmmm? And hug, help and calm.
    You were a sweet Grade 3 – and I think I have you picked out of the Grade 2 as well.

  17. Regenia says:

    Wow! I don’t know if the policy of absolutely no help to children is any where here in the States, but if not, we are probably headed that way. What a shame. Seems like there is never a middle ground. Why couldn’t a school nurse be called? Or isn’t she allowed to help any more?

Leave a Reply

