A Gaggle in the River

I am getting in the habit of taking my camera with me when I go on my little walks crawls through the park, and it pays off from time to time: to wit — Sam the Stranger of a recent post. While I don’t expect to spot anything new, sometimes I do.

I have never seen a sight such as the hundreds of Canada Geese that filled the other side of the river. They frequently tend to congregate farther upstream around a few bends from here, but seeing them here was a surprise.

Also a surprise was how shallow the river is in this spot, for they all seem to be standing in the water. Who knew?

They’re busy guys and gals at this time of year. They flap in Vees and honk in discord over our house several times a day, more often heading east in the morning and west in the evening. I don’t know when they will choose to hie thither to sunnier climes, perhaps to be destroyed, which I hear is how some American communities are coping with the concomitant problems of putting up with scads of the Canada Goose.

They were upstream and downstream as far as I could see and further than the camera could see that day. It was an unexpected treat. Don’t you love serendipity?

Geese on the Mississippi

Looking more or less directly across the river.

Geese on the Mississippi

Gazing upstream, and they went beyond what we see here.

Geese on the Mississippi

Downstream: there's a bit of a falls just beyond, so I imagine that this might have been the end of the gaggle.

This entry was posted in Photos and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to A Gaggle in the River

  1. Yes, the hunters DO salivate a bit this time of the year…
    There seems to be TONS of them! How beautiful…
    Happy weekend!
    Did you get a chance to grab your film before you had to hightail it back over the fence??
    hughugs

  2. Mary G says:

    Beautiful shots, especially the third. They’re honking past us daily these days, but not in the numbers we had when we lived just back of Lee Valley Tools in Ottawa.
    And I hear plenty of bangs around here of a morning – look out geese! …… although I think ducks are prefered.

  3. Diana says:

    Ah for crying out loud, hasn’t anyone one seen ” Fly Away Home”?

    To harm a goose you’d have to be an ass.

    Love Di ♥

  4. Mara says:

    We thought we might have caught a few geese heading south yesterday, but they were more likely ducks. Either that, or the geese’s spelling has really gone down the drain, since there wasn’t a V in sight!

  5. AC, aahhh taking a camera along, no matter how un-fancy, is always a good thing cause you never know what you will see and of course when you don’t have a camera you always see MORE. Thanks for sharing your crawl, err walk.

  6. KGMom says:

    We (meaning my dog & I) just saw a small flock taking flight today–headed roughly north.
    Interesting thing about our dog–she notices flying birds. These geese honked a good deal which helped focus her attention.

  7. Ruth says:

    Some of my favourite parks are impassable now due to goose poop. I possibly could take a gun to some too (unlikely really).

  8. Philip says:

    My side field, which had been planted in oats, has a flock of Canada Geese on it every day, resting up for their journey north.

    I have had three requests from hunters to shoot at them. This is the first time I ever knew they could shoot Canada Geese. I thought they were protected. They must have changed the law.

    Note to Self: Self find out what the hunting law is for Canad Geese.

Leave a Reply

