Sunrise at the Cottage

Traditionally, AC has not been the type of guy to witness a lot of sunrises, but as the sun rises later in this season and I rise earlier in my dotage, this is beginning to change. One morning at the cottage, I got some giddyup in my gittalong and managed to snag a few of what I think are decent photos for my troubles. I hope that you like them too.

It was a slightly misty morning, but it was so subtle that I wasn't always able to capture it very effectively. You can see it a little down around the old barn. The sky colour is also fairly nice in this shot.

Another building on the property is the old planer mill. The equipment is long gone, and the place has been screened in. It's a fine place in which to hang out later in the day.

We call this view or part of it Benchsward for rather obvious reasons. A little mist lingers over the river.

I love the way "Sunrise from the Bridge" turned out. The way that the light and shadows alternate on the water give it much depth -- almost looks like waves to me.

This entry was posted in Photos and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to Sunrise at the Cottage

  1. Mary G says:

    Sunrise from the Bridge would grace any photography magazine. The first shot also. It was worth the waking up early, and you are a master photographer, oh my!

  2. lorna says:

    I am in awe!!! These are amazing photos. There’s something so attractively mysterious about mist.

  3. charlie's mom says:

    How I loved these photos/works of art. You really must get up early more often. These should be framed and hung for all to enjoy. You have found your calling.

  4. PBS says:

    Beautiful photos, love them!

  5. Regenia says:

    I don’t know what to say except these look like art to me! What else could they possibly called?

  6. KGMom says:

    Lovely pics.
    I am always hoping to capture the subtle pale pearly shades of morning and early evening.
    By George, I think you’ve got it.
    Is this the same place where you took that lovely photo you posted a week or so back?

  7. Doris says:

    Beautiful, romantic looking photos! I love the last one the best. Nice work!

  8. AC, now that you (and all of us) can “see” what you (and we) have been missing by your shamelessly sleeping in later does this mean you will be getting up early to capture more wonderful images like these?

  9. Kila says:

    Beautiful photos, wow!

  10. All are lovely but the last is definitely my favorite. The depth is amazing.

  11. QMM says:

    Wow, man that is some serious photography. Mystical, magical. Thanks for stopping by. Doing great.
    QMM

  12. Mara says:

    I wish I could write children’s stories, some of those photos are just screaming for a story connected to them!

  13. June Kellum says:

    These shots are all just BEAUTIFUL!

    Wish I could have seen it all ‘in person!'(Lucky you!)

    I think that last one is my favorite!

  14. Ginnie says:

    Your last shot is amazing, AC. I’ve missed your pictures. I think you are getting the sunrises and sunsets that we will start to get in Nov. and Dec. I look forward to them every year.

  15. Hilary says:

    These are absolutely beautiful. I glad that you were up and about for this sunrise. It would have been a pity to have missed the mist. 😉 First and last are show-stoppers.

  16. TexWisGirl says:

    oh my word. these are gorgeous. that last shot is absolutely painting perfect. congrats on your well-deserved POTW!

  17. slamdunk says:

    Unbelievable shots. Thank you for sharing and congrats on your POTW.

  18. Linda says:

    They are all fantastic, but that last one was amazing, almost surreal. Congrats on POTW. I can see why your photographs were chosen.

  19. Scott says:

    These are beautiful and certainly worthy of POTW. Congratulations.

  20. Clare Dunn says:

    I love all of these, but especially “Sunrise from the Bridge” — just stunning! Congrats on POTW!

    xoxoxo, cd

Leave a Reply

