Back to My Roots

I feel like it’s past time to get back to my roots and blog about the grands. Well … blogging about them feels like I’m getting back to my roots, even though I managed to blog a fair bit before they happened along.

We’re still doing the BS gig — BS for Babysitting that is — but the more things stay the same, the more they change. So, let’s bring everyone up to date.

For a long time time, I have been dropping Amma off in the morning and relieving her in the afternoon. On Monday, however, Mom was out of town, so we thought we should arrive early en force to help Daddy out. As it turned out, we needn’t have bothered because he had the situation well in hand. The guy can even make a fair attempt at ponytails as it turns out.

Anyway, it had been awhile since I had seen Nikki Dee for any length of time — almost a week as it happened — and I was missing my lil girl, and perhaps she was missing me just a bit, so it was great to spend some early morning time with her enthusiastic self (see below).

Cuppa took both the above photo and the below photo that day. In the lower one we are about to walk to the bus stop together.

An odd thing occurred at the bus stop that day and every day since (for I have continued to stop over in the morning rather than just dropping Cuppa off). She shucked off her backpack and wished to be picked up. Well, she’s getting to be quite a handful, but I couldn’t and can’t resist. On the fourth day, I was ready with Cuppa’s little camera in my pocket, so when Nikki Dee began to remove her backpack, I handed the camera to a nice neighbour and asked that she take a picture (below). I know that this phase too shall pass, but I am determined to revel in such acts for as long as they last. I wonder who will give out first, her or me and my back.

So that’s it really. For now, I will continue to stay until bus time and enjoy these fleeting times with my granddaughter. You have probably never heard me to say this before, but I Love This Kid. 😉 Here’s an unrelated picture from a recent sleepover as she cruised on my computer before heading off to her Saturday morning dance class.

Life with Zach is changing too, and I’ll bring you up to date soon.

This entry was posted in Grandchildren and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Back to My Roots

  1. AC, we really enjoyed the afternoon spent with our grandson and granddaughter this week, so can understand exactly how you feel about the grands.

  2. Dimple says:

    These are wonderful shots, AC. The first one deserves a place on the wall and in the family album!

  3. Ginger says:

    That first picture just shines off the screen! 🙂

  4. Goodness, it Has been a while since we’ve seen the babies!
    Yes Please! Enjoy them as Much as you can!
    Have a great weekend!
    hughugs

  5. Mary G says:

    Hugs are good. I can’t pick my grandkid up any more. She’s almost 55 lb. But I still get lots of cuddles sitting down.
    My she’s a gorgeous kid. Million watt smile.

  6. Hilary says:

    Every child should be so lucky as to have such a loving grandfather. Just beautiful. 🙂

  7. Pearl says:

    Regular picks ups… isn’t that progressive weight training and best thing for your back?

  8. Frank says:

    I rarely use the word “adorable.” Call me old-fashioned but it seems to be a word that’s best expressed by women. But sometimes there’s none better.

    You’re granddaughter is adorable. There. It cannot be unsaid.

    And you’re a lucky man. But I reckon you know that.

  9. Ginnie says:

    Just imagine what a wonderful world this would be if every little girl had a grandpa like you, AC. You should write a book … complete with photos and instructions !!

  10. Philip says:

    The wee girl certainly has you trained and wrapped around her finger. This is one of life joys I am sure. Sadly it will pass. You have a few years left but some day things in her life will be so important she will have less time for you. I know! Boo, Hoo for me and you in the future.

  11. KGMom says:

    You are very wise–these years are fleeting, so enjoy as you do. The best plan.
    And, I still say–you are so blessed.

  12. Bernie says:

    So happy to see all of you again. She is one beautiful little girl and so very blessed to have such wonderful grandparents. Saw JJ over at Cuppa’s and he is growing so fast as well. Where does the time go? Big hugs to all of you…..:-)

Leave a Reply

