When Old Is Young

In my previous post I mentioned the power of genetics – in both directions, I guess. There is one guy I’ve been watching on TV who stuns me almost every time I see him. He’s LeRoy Bell, one of the contestants in X Factor. The guy is 60 years old, but I could easily  be persuaded that he is 30 years younger when I look at him: likewise when I see a clip of him interacting with his teenage son. He’s doing pretty well in the competition too.

Then twice yesterday, once on TV and once on the internet, I came across the story of Alan Moore.

This guy is 61 years old and has made the Faulkner University football team. A long time ago, his first college career was truncated by a call to Vietnam but he was recently motivated to try again. He built a set of goalposts and began to practice his kicking. And it has paid off. While his role does not exactly carry the demands of a middle linebacker, I think this is a significant achievement. He looks old, especially compared to LeRoy Bell, but his body must be in pretty reasonable shape.

Of course, not that I haven’t thought about it or discussed it before, but I mentioned the role of genetics in terms my BIL and his operation on Wednesday in my post the other day.

So here’s a tiny update.

While I think the actual heart operation went well enough, all things considered, the family was pretty concerned about his state of confusion on the day after as he had great difficulty in finding and forming words. He was reported to be doing much better yesterday, however.


Aside: I don’t know if you’ve been watching X Factor at all, but it’s stacking up very well against its counterpart, American Idol. The performances and staging are much more polished. I think that if the two programs went head-to-head, I be tempted to choose to watch X Factor. Of course, it doesn’t help that AI is set up so that lesser contestants, such as Scotty McCreary (sorry Scotty, I’m sure you’re a good guy), somehow manage to win and that the girls are sent packing prematurely — at least early on in the competition. I hope AI manages to rectify those situations. I think it helps that, so far at least,  X Factor let’s the voting determine the two lowest acts, but the judges then choose which to send home. I think that will help to prevent at least some huge mistakes from occurring.

This entry was posted in Newsiness and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to When Old Is Young

  1. Mary G says:

    Hope your BIL does well. My father had a triple coronary bypass at age 50 and lived happily until 85. Hope this happens to the BIL as well.

  2. Mara says:

    That guy in the first photo is 60? Wow, I never would have thought.

    Hope your BIL is doing better every day.

  3. Hilary says:

    Continued best thoughts for your BIL.

    That is the youngest looking 60 year old I’ve ever seen.

  4. AC, sorry to read that you were not feeling well and also that your BIL was feeling even worse, but then relieved to learn you are both somewhat better. And looking at the photos in this post it seems one can be even younger looking than one feels or is feeling young what keeps one looking young?

  5. KGMom says:

    I have been assured by my daughter that 60 is the new 40. Hmmm–so why do my knees feel like 70?

  6. Lorna says:

    All those admirable men!

  7. I think genetics is the key…no getting around it.
    Glad Brian is improving! Sending prayer his way…and I hope you’re Also feeling better today?!!
    hughugs

  8. Diana says:

    I watched the auditions but quit after that. I watch way to much telly already!!
    I will send a pray up for your BIL AC.
    Love Di ♥

  9. beth says:

    i’m kind of in love with leroy……i missed the Xfactor this week and maybe even last week…..i sure hope he’s still in it !!

Leave a Reply

